Saturday, July 30, 2011

In My Mailbox(3) Borders Edition

Hi guys,

This weeks In My Mailbox has alot of great stuff in it. Hope you guys enjoy it and get something out of it. =]

In My Mailbox is a weekly feature/meme/video hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren.

Anyway without further ado. Here it is.

Books I mentioned:
Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie
Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce
Arson by Estevan Vega
 by Lee Chambers
***Don't forget to visit Jackson Pearce over at her blog here.
She has great videos they are awesome and I really suggest you go check them out. =]

Thanks everyone for your continued support in my blog. I love doing it. I hope I grow even more and get a ton more followers. Also today I noticed I finally reached 20 followers. That is so awesome. =]

Some other news Elle over at the The Book Memoirs got diagnosed with Carpal Tunnel and is all down in the dumps. I hope everything will turn out all right with Elle. So if you could go over their and give her a cheer up message that would be great.

Hope you enjoyed this weeks post.

Tell me in the comments what you got this week and don't forget to follow. =]

Til next time,

Happy Reading.

-Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer

Thursday, July 28, 2011

The Hunger Games

Hi everyone,

Pictures are being revealed of Peeta and Gale in the Hunger Games Movie, thats coming out next year, in Entertainment Weekly this friday. I am getting more and more excited for it and can't wait til it comes out it is starting to look so good. Also I am sure if you google it you can find the pics online somewhere. =]

Here is a pic of Entertainment Weekly's Cover:

And here is a Countdown Widget. =]

Til next time,

Happy Reading.

-Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday(2): Inheritance(Inheritance Cycle Series #4) by Christopher Paolini

Hi everyone,
I really really really can not wait til this book comes out. I love this series and it is the last one in it. I am so excited but I hate that I have to wait til November. =]

For those of you who don't know "Waiting On" Wednesday is an event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to let others know which book you are anitcipating and can't wait til it comes out to read it.

  • Title: Inheritance by Christopher Paolini 

  • Pub. Date: November 2011

  • Publisher: Random House Children's Books

  • Format: Hardcover , 800pp 

  • Cover Image Not so very long ago, Eragon—Shadeslayer, Dragon Rider—was nothing more than a poor farm boy, and his dragon, Saphira, only a blue stone in the forest. Now the fate of an entire civilization rests on their shoulders.
    Long months of training and battle have brought victories and hope, but they have also brought heartbreaking loss. And still, the real battle lies ahead: they must confront Galbatorix. When they do, they will have to be strong enough to defeat him. And if they cannot, no one can. There will be no second chances.
    The Rider and his dragon have come further than anyone dared to hope. But can they topple the evil king and restore justice to Alagaƫsia? And if so, at what cost?
    This is the much-anticipated, astonishing conclusion to the worldwide bestselling Inheritance cycle.

    Links to Preorder/Check it out:
    Barnes and Noble

    Anyone else waiting for this one? I really can't wait. I also love the cover by the way. Let me know what you are waiting for this Wednesday in the comments.

    Til next time,

    Happy Reading.

    -Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer

    Teaser Tuesday(1): Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

    Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading.
    Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
    Grab your current read
    Open to a random page
    Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
    BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
    Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

    A mysterious island.
    An abandoned orphanage.
    A strange collection of very curious photographs.
    It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.
    A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

    My Teaser:
    "He slipped me another photo. Once I'd had a moment to look at it, he said, So? What do you see? A little girl? And? She's wearing a crown. He tapped the bottom of the picture. What about her feet? I held the snapshot closer. The girl's feet weren't touching the the ground. But she wasn't jumping--she seemed to be floating in air. My jaw fell open."
                                            -Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children by Randsom Riggs
    This went up a little late but oh well bettter late than never. =]

    Til next time,

    Thanks for reading my first Teaser Tuesday and Don't forget to follow. =]

    Happy Reading

    -Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer

    Saturday, July 23, 2011

    In My Mailbox(2)

    Hi everyone,

    Here is my second In My Mailbox post. My cooling fan was running on my computer and it messed with the sound and I didn't feel like recording it all over again so I apologize about that. You can still here okay some parts, just turn up your volume, in others you can't.  But that is okay, I was talking to much and mumbling anyway.

    In My Mailbox is a weekly feature/meme/video hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren.

    Anyway without futher ado. Here it is.

    Books I talked about:

      by George R.R. Martin
     by Veronica Roth
     by Veronica Roth
     by Jay Asher
     by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler
     by Joel M Andre
    by Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee(Comes out September 13th 2011)
    Blogs I talked about:
    Angela @ Reading Angel

    Thanks for watching and thanks for following my blog.

    Let me know what you got in your mailbox in the comments.

    Til next time

    Happy Reading. =]

    -Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer

    Review #13: The Giver by Lois Lowry

    Jonas's world is perfect. Everything is under control. There is no war or fear or pain. There are no choices. Every person is assigned a role in the Community. When Jonas turns twelve, he is singled out to receive special training from The Giver. The Giver alone holds the memories of the true pain and pleasure of life. Now, it is time for Jonas to receive the truth. There is no turning back.

    Hi Everyone,

    I remember this book from my childhood but I never read it then. I think it had something to do with the man on the cover of the book it just never interested me. I really was missing out. This book kind of reminds me of a futuristic dystopian. I am so glad that I decided to pick it up and read it now.
    The Giver transcends time and if you haven't read it you definitely should.

    This books is one of my all time favorite reads I have ever read. The story was so interesting and unique I haven't really read anything like it before. It involves a boy named Jonas who lives in this community with all these rules and sameness. So much sameness and rules that everyone doesn't see or feel anything really at all. One of the things that struck me hard was that they can't even see color. I mean imagine, everyone all being the same and concentrating on it so much that you can't even see the color red.

    When I started reading this book I didn't know what to expect. This book literally blew my mind it was that good. It is an awesome classic that I think everyone should read. Jonas is such a great character. You really feel for him as he goes along his journey and how he has to keep this secret and memories from the whole community that he grew up with and lived in. It is a very lonely taxing job on a person, to be The Receiver and to have your whole world turned upside down.

    The ending of this book was very leave it up to the reader as to what happens. I really didn't like that but this is what makes the book extra good. I wasn't expecting it. I really wanted the book to end with a neat little bow but books that end that way are rarely fantastic. And this book was pure amazing and thought provoking. It really made me think what if our society was like this book. No emotions, memories or really any thoughts. It would be a horrible though perfect place to live.

    In the end I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars. I definitely recommend reading this book if you haven't. It is a classic that is a must read. The story is so good. I can't rant and rave enough about this book. I wish I had discovered it sooner.

    Til next time,

    Happy Reading. =]

    Wednesday, July 20, 2011

    Waiting on Wednesday(1) The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore

    Hi everyone,

    Today I decided to do my first Waiting on Wednesday blog. =]

    For those of you who don't know "Waiting On" Wednesday is an event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to let others know which book you are anitcipating and can't wait til it comes out to read it.
  • Title: The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore             

  • Pub. Date: August 23, 2011

  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

  • Pages: 352

  • I've seen him on the news. Followed the stories about what happened in Ohio. John Smith, out there, on the run. To the world, he's a mystery. But to me . . . he's one of us.
    Nine of us came here, but sometimes I wonder if time has changed us—if we all still believe in our mission. How can I know? There are six of us left. We're hiding, blending in, avoiding contact with one another . . . but our Legacies are developing, and soon we'll be equipped to fight. Is John Number Four, and is his appearance the sign I've been waiting for? And what about Number Five and Six? Could one of them be the raven-haired girl with the stormy eyes from my dreams? The girl with powers that are beyond anything I could ever imagine? The girl who may be strong enough to bring the six of us together?

    They caught Number One in Malaysia.
    Number Two in England.
    And Number Three in Kenya.
    They tried to catch Number Four in Ohio—and failed.
    I am Number Seven. One of six still alive.

    And I'm ready to fight.

    Links to check it out/Preorder:
    Barnes and Noble

    I really can't wait for this book to come out. I loved the first one so much I can't wait for the second. What book are you waiting for on this beautiful Wednesday? =]

    Til next time,

    Happy Reading. =]

    Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer

    Tuesday, July 19, 2011

    Random Blog Post

    Hi guys,

    I love how my blog is slowly but steadily getting new followers and moving up in the blog world. I hope I get even more followers and I can do even more book reviews and move on to giveaways and etc... =]

    Some news to share, the other day I bought a new web cam for like 20 bucks that I should be using to post new videos on here and my youtube. =] I plan on doing mostly just In My Mailbox blogs and maybe some random musing blogs. It depends on what I decide to do and how I am feeling.

    Another thing is that I bought another small bookshelf for like 12 dollars, which is really inexpensive in my opinion, to make room for my books that I want to buy. And now I don't have to double stack my books because I have the room. Yay. =] lol.

    I bought a few books this week so I will be featuring those in my In My Mailbox vlog later this week. Plus I just got my first ever Net Galley book. I will be sharing with you what it is also with my In My Mailbox vlog.

    That's all my recent news,

    Til next time,

    Happy Reading

    -Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer

    Sunday, July 17, 2011

    Books for Review.

    Hello Everyone,

    I will be getting some books for review. I have one already and am currently reading it. I got them through Partners in Crime Tours. They help authors get reviews on blogs through tours and etc... They mostly deal with Mystery and Thriller books. I am so glad that I am participating. The first book that I got is The Black Chronicles: Cry of the Fallen by Joel M. Andre. So far it is good. I will post a review of it in August. =]

    Disclaimer: In concordance with the FTC, this eBook was provided for review by the author for Partners In Crime Tours and then given to me free for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own and I was not paid or influenced in any way. =]

    Also just a shout out to my friend Rick from Rhodes Review for getting me in contact with them. =]

    Til next time

    Happy Reading. =]

    Friday, July 15, 2011


    Hi guys,

    Today I decided to do a IMM or In my mailblox video blog or vlog. This was my first ever so I hope you guys enjoy it. Also the books are from the previous months of this year not this week cause I have a nookcolor and don't buy that much books. =]

    In My Mailbox is a weekly feature/meme/video hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren.

    With out further ado here it is. =]

    Hope you guys enjoyed it. There should be more videos to come in the future. =]

    Don't forget to check out my Harry Potter Review below and please don't forget to follow me. 

    Til next time,
    Happy Reading and Blogging.

    Review #12: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2.

    Hi guys,

    I am now just waking up today after seeing the midnight release of Harry Potter Part 2 at the drive-in. I want to write this now as it is still fresh in my mind. What can I say about this movie. I am both speechless and bursting at the seams. It was one of the best Harry Potter movies I have ever seen. I went into seeing this movie feeling sad and excited at the same time. That my childhood was basically ending. After seeing the movie I felt that I could let it all go and that it ended on the best note it possibly could have.

    This movie was emotional, action packed, and purely just amazing. I was enthralled from beginning to end. I kept gripping the blanket I had and my heart kept racing. I even have to admit I was balling like a freakin baby at parts. I mean its the end of Harry Potter forever, I had to cry at some parts. I wanted to cry to be able to let a big chunk of my life and childhood go. That being said it was one of the best movies I have ever seen and they really did justice to the finale of this awesome series.

    All of the scenes had a ton of action in them. The battle scenes were just perfect. Everything was just about as I had wanted it to be and what I pictured in my mind from the book. I can't find the words to describe how amazingly great this film was. It had the subtlety it need to convey the darkness and the seriousness of it. But then threw in some tiny jokes for the fans just to have a little laugh at this finale.

    Maggie Smith was once again perfect as Professor McGonagall like always. I thought Alan Rickman's performance was so fantastic in this film. It was the best work that I have seen him do throughout all of the movies. I was crying mostly at his parts through the movies, it was that good. Another great scene was Molly against Bellatrix(you know what scene I am talking about). It was just how I pictured it. The deaths in this movie also got to me in a way that I didn't think it would. Now with the kiss between Ron and Hermione, it was really good but not perfect and fantastic. Other people might disagree with me on that.

    Now to somethings I didn't like completely from the movie. The ending where it goes 19 years later could have been better. It was still good and everything and meaningful but like I said could have been better. Harry and Ginny were aged well but Hermione and Ron really weren't all that well aged. And they didn't show Reamus and Tonks son Teddy which I wish they did. They could have ended it even more better by making that scene perfect but it wasn't.

    Overall this movie was so awesome and fantastic. And I know I probably don't need to say it because you all are going to see it anyway but everyone needs to see this finale. The series end was great just like I expected it would be. I feel now that I can move on from Harry Potter and that I feel it will live forever on in the books and movies. =]

    I might go see this movie again in theaters this time instead of the drive-in. Also seeing part 1 and then part 2 made this movie even more special and complete. If you get the chance to do that or even watching part 1 before you go, I definitely suggest doing that. It really was so fantastic that I think I might see it again. I am also planning on re-reading all 7 of the books just to get complete closer from the whole entire Harry Potter series. Overall of course I give this movie 5 out of 5 stars. What are you waiting for go see this movie now. lol =]

    Til next time,

    Happy Reading everyone. =]

    Thursday, July 14, 2011

    Harry Potter =]


    Hi guys,

    Today at midnight it all ends. I am so excited for it. I am seeing both Part 1 and Part 2. I am planning on doing a review on Part 2, to let you guys know how it was, which I am sure it will be fantastic. Going to see this is so bittersweet, I can't believe my whole childhood is basically ending.
    Let me know in the comments if and when you guys are going to see it. I just can't express how excited I am.
    I will let you know how it was and lets all just celebrate Harry Potter tonight for all that it has given everyone that has either read the books or seen the films or both. It has been such an amazing journey of Harry Potter.

    Til next blog,

    Happy Reading. =] 

    Update/Conclustion of Once Upon a Read a Thon

    Once Upon a Read-a-Thon

    Hi Guys,
    Okay this is the conclusion of the Read a thon. It was really fun to take part in. I got about 2 books done. I finished A Wrinkle in Time and I am just about done with The Giver which I am planning on finishing tonight.

    I read: 309 pages.

    I know thats not alot but I choose small books on purpose. I knew I wouldn't be able to read that fast and I am happy I read two books in a short period. =]
    This was a plus for me and got me reading, especially cause I am kind of a slow reader at times. I loved doing the mini challenges, I did about 3 of them. Thanks Angela, Lori and Candace for hosting this 2nd Annual read a thon. It was awesome consindering this was my first. I can't wait to do another one when that time comes. =]

    Til next time,

    Happy Reading

    -Michael/Bookshelf Review. =]

    Wednesday, July 13, 2011

    Update/ Mini Challenge for the OU Read a Thon

    Hi Guys,
    Okay I didn't get much reading done yesterday because it was my birthday and I had to work. So I only read a few more pages in The Giver. The Giver is really getting good. I can't believe I haven't read it before.
    Okay now to the challenges.

    Once Upon a Read-a-Thon

    So, for this one you will have to post on your blogs your top 3 LOVE TRIANGLES.

    Here are my top 3 Love Triangles:

    Peeta vs. Gale in The Hunger Games Trilogy. -I loved this one, it was hard to root for who you wanted Katniss to be with.

    Harry vs. Ron in the Harry Potter Series. -I know that this isn't really a love triangle really but in my opinion it kind of was. I always wanted Harry and Hermione to be together I didn't want her with Ron. But I can understand why that happened. I was always hoping though. lol

    Edward vs. Jacob in the Twilight Series- I also probably shouldn't have put this one but its the only other one I could think of.

    It was hard putting these together but thats okay YA Bliss said two would be enough but I did 3.

    Here is the second challenge hosted by The Bookish Type.
    There challenge is to make an all new synopsis of a book just based on the cover. So here is mine:

    ***A big ball of fire has escaped from the lab that it was created in. It is now terrorizing the city of Chicago and drying up the lake nearby. Someone decided to give fire the knowledge to think on its own. Fire is already dangerous who would want it to rampage the world. The citizens of Chicago are trying to fight it the best way they can. A girl named Tris is the only one that has the key to stopping its rampage. She is the only one that can be fearless and brave enough to be able to stop it. But the thing is can she rise up to the challenge.*** 

    That is both challenges from yesterday. =]

    Til next time,

    Happy Reading. =]

    Tuesday, July 12, 2011

    Update/Birthday/Harry Potter

    Once Upon a Read-a-Thon

    Hi guys,
    I just want to do a random blog today with a bunch of random stuff and musings in it that I want to talk about lol.

    Okay first up is my Once Upon a Read a Thon Update. Right now I am on my second book The Giver by Lois Lowry. Surprisingly it is really good. I wasn't expecting it to be as good as it is. I am about halfway through it and plan on finishing it today I hope. =]

    Also just wanted to let you know that today is my birthday, so if you want to send me a B-day message in the comments you can. lol. =] I turned 20 today. I can't believe my teen years are over already. I have to work today so don't know if it will be the best birthday today but I will celebrate later in the week.


    Which brings me to my next topic, Harry Potter. I am getting so excited for the movie which comes out this Friday. I am going to my local drive-in to see it. Where they are playing the first part at around 9. Then at midnight are playing part 2. I grew up with Harry Potter. My mom used to read the books to me and my brother when we were little. When the movies came out that made Harry Potter even better. When it all ends I am going to be sad and don't want it to end. It will always live forever in the books. I plan on doing a re-read of all the books probably in a row after it ends to remember all the awesomeness the books gave to the world.

    This day marks another year for me and another day closer to the end of Harry Potter. I grew up with these characters. I am both excited and sad that the end is so near. Anyway I guess it will lead to a new chapter in my life and there will always be something more and just as fantastic as Harry Potter out there in the future. =]

    Til next time readers,

    Happy Reading. =]

    Monday, July 11, 2011

    Update/Mini Mythology Challenge

    Hi Everyone,
    Okay first an update on my read a thon. Today I finished one of my books. I finished A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L'Engle. It was strange at parts but overall had good points to it and had somewhat of a good story. There will be a review of it some time later. Now I only have 2 books to go.

    Mini Mythology Challenge
    Bailey over at her blog posted this challenge. =]

    What is your favorite type of myth (Greek, Roman, Egyptian etc)?

    My favorite type of myth is Greek myth? I love especially how the gods became gods. Most of them were born from Kronos and Rhea. Now Kronos didn't want them to over throw him so he ate all his children except in place of Zeus he ate a rock. And then later Zeus of course over threw him. Athena was born from Zeus's mind. etc... etc.. I could go on. As you can tell I really like Greek Myth. Which leads into the next question.

    What is your favorite book with some type of mythology in it?

    Of course you just know that everyone is going to say the Percy Jackson series. And of course so am I. =] I learned about this series when I saw the trailer for the movie. I was so excited that it was based on books that I went and looked them up right away and bought them. When I read the first one I thought it was so fantastic and had so much Greek Myth in it that it was one of the best books I have ever read. If you haven't read this series you definitely have to check it out. I am still on the fifth book in this series and can't wait to read it. I also can't wait to break off into Riordan's other books about mythology like the Kane Chronicles. =]

    Until next time,

    Happy Read A Thon. =]
    And don't forget to follow my blog. Just click the follow button. =]

    Once Upon A Read A Thon

    Once Upon a Read-a-Thon

    Hi Guys,
    I decided last minute that I am going to participate in this Read A Thon hosted by Reading Angel ,Candace's Book Blog and Pure Imagination. My goal is going to read about 3 books. Life might get in the way and I might not be able to do it but I am going to try. =]

    The books that I will attempt to read in this short period are:
    A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L'Engle
    The Giver by Lois Lowry
    Physik by Angie Sage

    Those are the three I am planning on reading. I will be reading them on my Nook Color so maybe I can read them faster that way. Hopefully I can get through them all. =]

    Happy Reading =]

    Sunday, July 10, 2011

    Review #11: The Capture (Guardians of Ga'Hoole Series #1) by Kathryn Lasky

    After Soren, a young owlet, is pushed from his family's nest by his older brother, he's plucked from the forest floor by agents from a mysterious school, the St. Aegolius Academy for Orphaned Owls. When Soren arrives at St. Aggie's, he suspects there is more to the school than meets the eye. He and his new friend, the clever and scrappy Gylfie, find out that St. Aggie's is actually a training camp where the school's leader can groom young owls to help achieve her goal--to rule the entire owl kingdom.
    In the first book in this series, the reader follows the adventures of Soren and Gylfie as they subvert the attempted brainwashing that takes place at St. Aggie's.

    Hello Everyone,
    I decided to read this book because I wanted to watch the movie and so I had to read the book before I watched the movie. Both the book and the movie was awesome.
    This book has such a good plot and teaches you how friendships can form through tough times and that any one can learn how to fly if you just believe. Kathryn Lasky is such a good writer and story teller. She knows and must have researched so much about owls. This book was very knowledgable and I learned a lot about owls. Like did you know hows have gizzards and thats what helps digest their food. I really loved this book. Soren was thrown into a situation that he couldn't even imagine was happening to him. He meets Glyfie a spunky little elf owl that becomes his friend. Soren is quiet but eventually becomes confident through out the book and Glyfie helps him do that.
    This story was such a great opener to this series and I can't wait to read the next books. Soren and Glyfie make you want to go on the adventure with them. I am excited to see what happens to them.
    The movie was different from the book, but was still a good movie. I don't know if the movie had more than just the first book in it but I guess I will find out when I read the other books. The story in the movie was awesome and had a ton of action. If you want to read the book and watch the movie I definately recommend that you go and check them out. Overall I give both 5 out of 5 stars. You definitely won't be disappointed. An awesome light read. =]

    Til next time,

    Happy Reading.

    Saturday, July 9, 2011

    IMM and Following

    Hello Guys,

    This is just a random ranting blog post that I decided to do. I am exploring the blogosphere because I am new to this whole blogging thing. And I am mostly watching videos of a bunch of different bloggers doing IMM videos. IMM stand for In My Mailbox and is hosted by the The Story Siren. Basically people post a video of the new books that they bought or aquired that week. I am so intrigued by all of these peoples posts. I have been so into watching that I am reading less. =] I am also adding so many new and exciting books to my wish list/tbr pile. Because of this I am thinking about adding video to my blog and doing IMM's, let me know what you guys think of that.
    Also because I am exploring I am following a ton of other peoples blogs now. I am going to link a few down below. =]
    The first blog that introduced me to IMM's was The Book Memoirs I love this site, its awesome and ran by Elle and Kate, I already blogged about this so I won't say more about it.
    Another blog I found is The Reading Angel, it has videos with Angela and Josh, brother and sister, who are awesome too. It also includes revies and etc...
    Here is a list of awesome blogs that I recently found and I follow.
    Consumed by Books.
    Patricia's Particularity
    Loving Books
    Candace's Book Blog

    Until next time,

    Happy Reading. =]

    Thursday, July 7, 2011

    Review #10: Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

    Synopsis: Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker–his classmate and crush–who committed suicide two weeks earlier.
    On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he'll find out how he made the list.
    Through Hannah and Clay's dual narratives, debut author Jay Asher weaves an intricate and heartrending story of confusion and desperation that will deeply affect teen readers.

    Hello Bloggers,
    I saw that this book became number one on the New York Times Best Seller list for paperbacks. So I had to check it out and I read the synopsis. This book really intrigued me. I can't believe I haven't heard of this book til now, when it came out in paperback. So I got a copy of it on my nook and it interested me so much I just had to read it. I devoured this book, I just had to keep reading.
    This book has such an important message that everyone should read it. Suicide is something that people need to look out for and help people who are contemplating it. You can't turn your head to something this serious. There are people out there that comit suicide everyday. These people's lives could have been saved if someone just could have saw the signs and saved them.
    The girl Hannah in this book should have and could have been saved. These thirteen people that gave Hannah thirteen reasons to go through with killing herself will be forever haunted by the choices they made. 
    This book was probably one of the fastest books I have ever read, it was that important to me. Jay Asher had such an emotional story to tell, it really moved me. I was so hoping in the end that Hannah was lying and she didn't go through with it. But that is not how reality really is. Clay the narrator of the story, one of the people/reasons that Hannah sent a tape to, was a really compelling charater. Clay really made me feel for him. He really wished that Hannah didn't go through with it and that he could have done something about it but Hannah pushed him away.
    This book was so compelling, thought provoking and emotional that you just have to read this book. Especially with so many people who consider suicide and need help to pull them back over the edge. This book is that important that everyone needs to read it.
    I gave this book a 5 out of 5 stars. I can really see why this book is so popular. If you haven't read it please do. And if you see the warning signs of someone who could be suicidal whoever it may be please speak up to them. And if you might be thinking about Suicide please call the National Suicide Prevention Hotline at 1-800-273-TALK.

    I know this isn't a light fun topic but it is serious and needs to be said. Another review will probably be posted tomorrow sometime.

    Also just to let you guys know Jay Asher has a blog here. And it links to other sites of his and a bunch of stuff that is interesting if you want to check it out. He is even coming out with another book in November with Carolyn Mackler called the Future of Us, that sounds really awesome, which you can also check out on his blog.

    Oh and don't forget to follow me.  

    Until next time,

    Happy Reading.

    Wednesday, July 6, 2011

    Book Memoirs

    Hello Bloggers,

    I just found one of the most awesome blogs. I have been hooked and have been watching there videos. It is run by Kate and Elle. You can tell that they both love books and care for them immensely. They both have Kindles I think. Even though I have a Nook I don't mind it at all. Elle does videos of what is in her mailbox and shares all the books she gets in her mailbox within the month. They are both so unique and interesting. I love their blogs and their reviews. Plus they are funny at times, especially when Elle is yelling at her cats to be quiet and when Kate talks to much. =] This is what makes them so special and awesome. So I definitely go recommend you go check them out. They are located at the Book Memoirs site. Right now they have a Guest Blogger week and are giving away some books. Oh also did I mention they also do a lot of giveaways. =]

    Until next time,

    Happy Reading. =]

    Tuesday, July 5, 2011

    Ebates. =]

    Hello Bloggers,

    I just wanted to tell you guys that I love Ebates. Its a website that all you have to do is sign up for it, free of course, and when you shop online you get a percentage back through the ebates website. Once you have an account, all you have to do is go through ebates, click on the website you want to shop at and then go shopping. Then every quarter or so ebates sends you a check with all the cash back you received during that quarter. I am so happy to tell you guys that Barnes and Noble now has double cash back and is up to 6% cash back. No telling how long it will last. So go sign up now and go shopping.  =] Oh and by the way there website is =]

    Until next time,

    Happy Reading. =]

    Monday, July 4, 2011

    Happy 4th of July Everyone. =]

    Hi Bloggers,
    I hope your holiday was awesome. Mine was okay considering I had to work. I can here the sound of neighbors shooting off fireworks as I write this. I will be writing more reviews and blogs later this week cause I was enjoying my weekend and I haven't had much time to write anything. I have some great reviews coming up so hope to see you later this week.

    Have an Awesome rest of your day and go enjoy the fireworks. =]

    Until next time,

    Happy Reading.