Sunday, August 18, 2013

Book Trailer Reveal: Vicious by Victoria Schwab

Hi everyone,
 
 
The Book Trailer of Vicious by Victoria Schwab was release this week.
 
 
I am super excited about it and I really can not wait to read it.
 
 
Here is some info about the book before I show you the cover. =]
 
Vicious
Vicious by V.E. Schwab
Hardcover, 368 pages
Expected publication: September 24th 2013 by
 
add to goodreads
 
 
Synopsis: 
 
 
 
A masterful, twisted tale of ambition, jealousy, betrayal, and
superpowers, set in a near-future world.

Victor and Eli started out as college roommates—brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same sharpness and ambition in each other. In their senior year, a shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities. But when their thesis moves from the academic to the experimental, things go horribly wrong.

Ten years later, Victor breaks out of prison, determined to catch up to his old friend (now foe), aided by a young girl whose reserved nature obscures a stunning ability. Meanwhile, Eli is on a mission to eradicate every other super-powered person that he can find—aside from his sidekick, an enigmatic woman with an unbreakable will.

Armed with terrible power on both sides, driven by the memory of betrayal and loss, the archnemeses have set a course for revenge—but who will be left alive at the end?
 
 
Without further to do,
 
 
Here is the Trailer for Vicious. =]

--

--

--

--

--

--
 

 
Thoughts about the trailer:
 
 
I freaking love this trailer. It gives me way more insight into what the book is about. It makes me way more exited for it to come out. I so can't wait to read it. I love any type of book that has to do with superpowers and I know that Victoria Schwab is just absolutely brilliant. Plus this trailer has stunning images in it. So can't wait for this one.
 
 
Let me know in the comments what you thought of it.
 
 
Thanks for Visiting
 
 
and
 
 
Happy Reading!!!
 
 
-Michael
 

Tuesday, August 6, 2013

August TBR and July Rewind

This year I have set the same Goodreads goal as last year, which is 50 books, just in case you were wondering. I plan on smashing my goal this year. So I am making a master tbr list and will change it around every month or so and keep you guys updated here to my progress.
So without further ado here is my TBR list and the links to the books I want to read. The numbered ones are the ones that I am hoping to read this month. My list is full with notes and the dates that some books are coming out so I can prepare to read them in the future. Some of them are interchangeable with each other and I can choose to read whichever one I want. Those that are crossed out are ones that I have read already within the month. If I don't read them all they will carry over into the next month. =]
January
 
 
 
 
May
 
16) A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin (Started in March and April, still reading along with TV show.) (This could also be the reason why I am so behind cause its a long book.)
17) The Emerald Tablet by Joshua Silverman (Just started reading within the past week) 
 
 
 
Notes:
(Falling for You by Lisa Schroeder comes out Jan. 1st, Make Plans to Buy/Read)
(Possibly reread The Host, movie comes out in theaters March 29th) (Didn't get to it.)
(The Mortal Instruments comes out in theaters August 23rd)
 
There is my list this month. I hope you guys cheer me on and keep me on track with my goal. I am really hoping to smash my goal this year. Link me up to your August TBR lists if you have posted one. I am really interested to know what others are wanting to read. I am hoping to continue to read a ton of books each month, so keep cheering me on to reach my goal. =]
 
I just realized that I completely forgot to do this for the month of July. Oh well, I just put what I did in for July in this post as well. I have been in a blogging slump ever since I came back from vacation. I haven't really been up to blogging as much as I have in the past. I am still trying to read as much as possible and posting every now and then. Hopefully I will stay on track with my goal. Thanks for helping me keep my goals up. =]
 
 
Link me up to your TBR if you have one in the comments below. =]
 
 
Thanks for Visiting
 
 
Happy Reading. =]
 
 
-Michael

Thursday, August 1, 2013

Cover Reveal: Cress by Marissa Meyer (Lunar Chronicles #3)

Hi everyone,
 
Yesterday the cover of the 3rd book of the Lunar Chronicles was released.
 
I am so excited for this to come out. I can't wait.
 
 
 
Without further to do, here is the cover:
 
-
 
-
 
-
 
-
 
-
 
-
 
-
 
-
 
-
 
Cress (Lunar Chronicles, #3)
Cress by Marissa Meyer
Hardcover, 560 pages
Expected publication: February 4th 2014 by Feiwel and Friends
 
add to goodreads
 
Synopsis:
Rapunzel's tower is a satellite. She can't let down her hair - or her guard.
In this third book in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles series, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, who has been trapped on a satellite since childhood with only her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker – unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing stop her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only ones who can.
 
My Thoughts about the Cover:
I think the cover looks amazing. It really goes with all the other covers. I love the girl and her clear representation to Rapunzel. I haven't read Scarlet yet but I need to pronto because this book is coming out real soon. Really awesome cover. Can't wait to continue the series. =]
 
 
Let me know in the comments what you think of the cover.
 
Thanks for Visiting
 
and
 
 
Happy Reading. =]
 
 
-Michael


Wednesday, July 31, 2013

Cover Reveal: Burn by Julianna Baggott (Book 3 of the Pure Trilogy)

Hi guys,
 
 
Today the cover of the 3rd book of the Pure Trilogy was released.
 
 
I am so excited for this to come out. I can't wait.
 
 
Without further to do, here is the cover:
 
-
 
-
 
-
 
-
 
-
 
-
 
-
 
-
 
-
 
Burn by Julianna Baggott
Hardcover, 432 pages
Expected publication: February 4th 2014 by Grand Central Publishing
 
add to goodreads
 
 
Synopsis:
 
 
The fate of the world is more fragile than ever as Pures battle Wretches and former allies become potential enemies.

Inside the Dome Partridge has taken his father's place as leader of the Pures. His intent had been to bring down the Dome from the inside with the help of the secret resistance force led by Partridge's former teacher Glassings. But from his new position of power, things don't seem quite as clear. Perhaps his father had been right. Perhaps if the world is to survive it needs the Dome--and Partridge--to rule it.

Outside the Dome Pressia and Bradwell continue piecing together the clues left to them by their parents from the time before the detonations. Soon they will be able to help heal the Wretches, freeing them from their monstrous fusings and the Dome's oppression once and for all. But their success also depends on Partridge. Can they still trust their friend and ally to see their plan through? Or will a new war begin?
 
 
My Thoughts about the Cover:
I think the cover looks amazing. I love that they named the 3rd book Burn. It really goes with all the other covers. I love that it looks like a piece of paper is burning and turned into a shape of a swan. Awesome, brilliant cover. Can't wait to read it. =]
 
 
Let me know in the comments what you think of the cover.
 
 
Thanks for Visiting
 
 
and
 
 
Happy Reading. =]
 
 
-Michael


Wednesday, July 24, 2013

The Atlantis Revolution Trilogy Trailer Release Day + Live Chat News

Hi Guys,
 
 
The new and improved Atlantis Revolution Trilogy Trailer has been released.
 
 
I am so excited for it.
 
 
This series has become one of my favorites
 
 
and without further to do here is the trailer.
 
 


 
 
Below are the covers to all the books in the series and if you want to check them out click the covers and it will take you to their Goodreads respectively. I highly recommend you check out this series. Tom Tancin is an awesome writer and I really can't wait till Medousa, the third book in the series, to come out so I can read it. =] 
 
Hippocampus (The Atlantis Revolution #1)
 
Echinodea (The Atlantis Revolution #2)
 
Medousa (The Atlantis Revolution #3)
 
 
Hope you guys enjoyed the trailer.


If you guys are interested the author of the series is having a Live Chat tonight from 7pm-8pm.
It will be on his website at www.tomtancin.com
If I could be there I would but unfortunately I have school tonight.
If you have a question for Tom visit him at his Live Chat tonight. =]
 
 
Thanks for Visiting
 
 
and
 
 
Happy Reading. =]
 
 
-Michael

Thursday, July 18, 2013

Review: The Emerald Tablet by Joshua Silverman

The Emerald Tablet (Legends of Amun Ra, #1)
The Emerald Tablet (Legends of Amun Ra #1)
Paperback, First, 408 pages
Published September 15th 2012 by Enchanted Forest Press
*Received a copy of his book from the author for a fair and honest review.
 
Synopsis:

Leoros doesn't have many friends. The son of a scientist and archaeologist, he is constantly on the move. But when his parents make a startling discovery in Egypt, Leoros' world is turned upside down.

When an archaeologist discovers the mythic Emerald Tablet buried beneath Egypt’s desert, her son decodes the ancient text leading him to a distant world.

On that world, a slave girl begins a journey towards a destiny she cannot imagine. But when an ancient foe rises from the ashes, they will be brought together by forces neither understands.

Leoros, who dreams of being like the heroes in the comic books, must fight to unlock the secrets of the universe to save a people he never knew existed.

Atlantia, whose bloody visions wake her in the night, senses the darkness coming.

Together they will face an enemy with the power of dark energy, lose a mentor to the assassin’s blade, and be betrayed by someone they trust. Their fight for the future is just beginning, and before it is over, a final sacrifice must be made. When the darkness comes, will they stand and fight or will they join it?

There is darkness in everyone.
 
 
My Thoughts/Review:
 
 What intrigued me most about this book was the description and the adventure quality. It sounded so mythical and amazing at the same time. I have to admit that the beginning of this story was a little confusing but once you get into it and learn who the people are and what the land is about you can dive right into the action-packed adventure of the story.

 I really liked the different characters and the main premise of the book. Leoros was an amazing main character, he really stole the book from the other characters. I loved getting inside his head and learning about everything he was going through. The basic premise of the book is that Leoros is with his parents in Egypt and he goes through a pillar into another world, called Potara. On Potara, he learns that he is able to manipulate energy with his feelings. Who wouldn't want to be able to manipulate energy with your mind and be able to fight and do stuff with it. Then more craziness ensues, don't want to give anything away, and he has to go on an amazing journey to find himself and go up against the bad guys.

 The thing about this book is that it also has an evil and adult side. I wouldn't say it is 100% young adult, it is more grounded in fantasy, but if you can take some sexual scenes, violence and some talk about both of them then it is still a really great book and perfectly fine to read for the older young adults, not so much for the really young. I really also liked the evil and dark side to this book. The antagonists weren't really your average bad guys. You felt for the girls that had to do the bad things because that is how they were raised. This book really shows how people can become corrupt and power hungry very easily.

The other thing I really loved was that this book doesn't just stay with the main character telling the story it jumps from character to character. I even loved that it tells the story of Leoros' parents when they find out he is missing. I really liked the struggle of good versus evil and the battle that came from the opposing sides. Joshua Silverman is a really good writer and knows how to tell  a story from start to finish. He takes you on a ride through worlds and a variety of different characters to bring an amazing story to the page. I really can't wait to read more from Joshua Silverman.

 I really suggest reading this book if you love young adult but can stomach more of an adult theme for a younger genre novel. All of the characters really have depth and good backgrounds worked into their stories. I also really liked the young romance that happened and hopefully will blossom even more in the next book. I really can not wait to read the next installment of this series and to be able to delve back into the world. The one small complaint I have is that the story was a little bit long and could have ended earlier instead of having so much description and things going on in the beginning. I was very pleasantly surprised by all the twists and turns and I really suggest reading it to everyone that likes mythology, fantasy, sci-fi, and young adult. I really suggest picking up a copy, you really won't be disappointed. I loved reading every minute of it. =]
 
Overall, I give this book:
 
5 out of 5 Stars
 Great start to a fantasy series that will leave you wanting more. =]
 
Link to Check it Out:
add to goodreads
 
 
 
 
Thanks for Visiting
 
and
 
Happy Reading. =]
 
 
-Michael

Thursday, July 11, 2013

Back from Vacation

Hi Guys,
 
I am officially back to blogging after vacation.
 
It has taken me awhile to get back to the swing of things.
 
I loved visiting Myrtle Beach, I had an awesome time. =]
 
Today I am sharing some pictures of my vacation.
 
The beach from my hotel.

Went on a helicopter ride.

Visited Broadway at the Beach


The Best Western

Pic from Pier 14 and the Skywheel

Pic from the Beach
 
Got to hold a baby tiger and see adult tigers at Barefoot Landing.
 
Ended the trip with hitting a poor coyote. Felt so bad.
 
 
Hope you enjoyed my photo montage of my vacation.
 
 
Got through 3 books on my vacation so I will have reviews of those up soon.
 
 
Thanks for visiting
 
 
and
 
 
Happy Reading. =]
 
 
-Michael


Wednesday, June 26, 2013

Going on Vacation

Hi everyone
 
I am going on vacation to Myrtle Beach, South Carolina this week.
 
Therefore, I will not be blogging for about a week.
 
Just letting you know.
 
When I get back I will be sure to post pictures of my time there.
 
Until then.
 
Thanks for Visiting
 
Happy Reading
 
and
 
Hopefully I will get a whole lot of reading done just lounging on the beach.
 
Have a good week everyone.
 
I know I will. =]
 
-Michael

Monday, June 24, 2013

The "Well-Read" List from Book Riot

I saw this posted on Sarah Says Read
 
I am totally with her that Monday is a day for a list post.
 
Book Riot decided to make a list that if you read all the books on the list makes you a "well-read" person.
 
Go along with me to see if you and myself are considered "well-read".
 
Here is the list from Book Riot:
 
The ones I’ve read will be striked through, and the ones I plan to read will have a little * by them.

  1. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain*
  2. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle*
  3. The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton
  4. All Quiet on the Western Front by Eric Maria Remarque
  5. The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Klay  by Michael Chabon
  6. American Pastoral by Philip Roth
  7. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
  8. Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery
  9. Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand
  10. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
  11. Beloved by Toni Morrison
  12. Beowulf
  13. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak*
  14. Brave New World by Alduos Huxley
  15. The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz
  16. The Call of the Wild  by Jack London*
  17. Candide by Voltaire
  18. The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer
  19. Casino Royale by Ian Fleming
  20. Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
  21. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger*
  22. Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White
  23. Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell*
  24. The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson
  25. The Complete Stories of Edgar Allan Poe
  26. The Complete Stories of Flannery O’Connor 
  27. The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen
  28. Crime & Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky*
  29. The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown
  30. Death of a Salesman by Arthur Miller
  31. Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes
  32. Dream of Red Chamber by Cao Xueqin
  33. Dune by Frank Herbert*
  34. Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer
  35. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
  36. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green*
  37. Faust by Goethe
  38. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley*
  39. Game of Thrones by George RR Martin
  40. The Golden Bowl by Henry James
  41. The Golden Notebook by Doris Lessing
  42. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
  43. The Gospels
  44. The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck*
  45. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens*
  46. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  47. Hamlet by William Shakespeare
  48. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood*
  49. Harry Potter & The Sorceror’s Stone by J.K. Rowling
  50. Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad
  51. The Help by Kathryn Stockett
  52. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams*
  53. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
  54. House Made of Dawn by N. Scott Momaday
  55. Howl by Allen Ginsberg
  56. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  57. if on a winter’s night a traveler by Italo Calvino
  58. The Iliad by Homer
  59. The Inferno by Dante
  60. Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace
  61. Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison
  62. Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman
  63. The Life of Pi by Yann Martel
  64. The Lion, the Witch, and The Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis
  65. The Little Prince by Antoine  de Saint-Exepury
  66. Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov
  67. Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  68. Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert
  69. Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie
  70. Moby-Dick by Herman Melville*
  71. Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf
  72. Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie*
  73. The Odyssey by Homer
  74. Oedipus, King by Sophocles
  75. On the Road by Jack Kerouac
  76. A Passage to India by E.M. Forster
  77. The Pentateuch
  78. Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen
  79. Rabbit, Run by John Updike
  80. The Road by Cormac McCarthy
  81. Romeo & Juliet by William Shakespeare
  82. The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
  83. Slaughterhouse-5 by Kurt Vonnegut
  84. The Sound and The Fury by William Faulkner
  85. The Stand by Stephen King*
  86. The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway
  87. Swann’s Way by Marcel Proust
  88. Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston
  89. Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe
  90. The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien
  91. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  92. Ulysses by James Joyce
  93. The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera
  94. A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan
  95. Waiting for the Barbarians by J.M. Coetzee
  96. Watchmen by Alan Moore
  97. The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami
  98. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte*
  99. 1984 by George Orwell*
  100. 50 Shades of Grey by E.L. James
Most of these I haven't even heard of and some of them I don't even want to read. It was a great list that encompassed many different genres though. I have read 21 of the 100 books. That is really not that bad for me.
 
Let me know if the comments how many books you have read. Also if you do a list link me up to yours. If you think I missed one that I should definitely read, let me know that too.
 
Thanks for Visiting
 
and
 
Happy Reading. =]
 
-Michael

Friday, June 21, 2013

Follow Friday(41)

FF Hop

Follow Friday is a weekly blog hop event hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read.

 This week's Question is:

 
Q: Activity: Favorite Literary Quote

 

Here are a few of my favorite literary quotes:
“Never forget what you are, for surely the world will not. Make it your strength. Then it can never be your weakness. Armour yourself in it, and it will never be used to hurt you.”
George R.R. Martin, A Game of Thrones
 
“A mind needs books as a sword needs a whetstone, if it is to keep its edge.”
George R.R. Martin, A Game of Thrones
 
“Books are my friends, my companions. They make me laugh and cry and find meaning in life.”
Christopher Paolini, Eragon
 
“I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.”
J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
 
“Harry - you're a great wizard, you know."
"I'm not as good as you," said Harry, very embarrassed, as she let go of him.
"Me!" said Hermione. "Books! And cleverness! There are more important things - friendship and bravery and - oh Harry - be careful!”
J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone
 
“It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.”
J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone    
 
“Often the greatest act of courage is admitting that one has made a mistake...Follow your hearts. Protect one another, trust one another, because, at the end of the day, all of these people want something from you, or want you to do something for them, or be something that you are not. Your own responsibility is to one another.”
Michael Scott, The Necromancer
 
“Integrity is doing the right thing, even when no one is watching.”
C.S. Lewis
 
“We believe in ordinary acts of bravery, in the courage that drives one person to stand up for another.”
Veronica Roth, Divergent
 
“Sometimes crying or laughing are the only options left, and laughing feels better right now.”
Veronica Roth, Divergent
 
“I wish I could freeze this moment, right here, right now and live in it forever.”
Suzanne Collins, Catching Fire    
 
“We had to save you because you're the mockingjay, Katniss," says Plutarch. "While you live, the revolution lives.”
Suzanne Collins, Catching Fire
 
“Happy Hunger Games! And may the odds be ever in your favor.”
Suzanne Collins, The Hunger Games
 
Those are some of my favorite quotes. If you want more you can always check my Goodreads quote thing on the side of my blog.
 
 
P.S.
 
CAPTCHA: If you have CAPTCHA word verification enabled on your blog, please take it off. It makes it much more difficult for readers to comment. Please look at Alison's CAPTCHA Eradication Post to learn how to get rid of it.
 
 
Link me up to your Follow Friday's and I will be sure to follow you back. =]
 
 
Thanks for Visiting and Happy Friday =]
 
 
-Michael

Thursday, June 20, 2013

Review: Man Up!: Tales of my Delusional Self-Confidence by Ross Mathews

Man Up!: Tales of My Delusional Self-Confidence
Man Up!: Tales of my Delusional Self-Confidence by Ross Mathews
Hardcover, 241 pages
Published May 7th 2013 by Grand Central Publishing
 
Synopsis:
 
As a young kid growing up in a farm town, Ross Mathews might as well have wished for a pet unicorn or a calorie-free cookie tree to grow in his front yard. Either of those far-fetched fantasies would have been more likely to come true than his real dream: working in television in Hollywood, California. Seriously, that stuff just doesn't happen to people like Ross. But guess what. It totally did.

Now, with his first book, Ross takes us inside his journey as a super-fan, revealing the most embarrassing and hilarious moments of his small-town life and big-city adventures. From learning to swear like a hardened trucker to that time in high school when had to face down the most frightening opponent of all (his girlfriend's lady bits), Ross holds nothing back. Oh, then there's his surprisingly shady past involving the cutest pair of plus-sized women's pajama bottoms, deliciously dangerous pot butter, and embezzled sandwiches. And, of course, how he's managed to turn an obsession with pop-culture into one-on-one interactions with celebrities like Gwyneth Paltrow, Tiffani-Amber Theissen, Madonna, Michelle Kwan, and countless more without ever having a single restraining order issued against him.

Infused with Ross's trademark humor, unique voice, and total honesty, MAN UP! is a mission statement for anyone who doesn't fit the mold. His hasn't been the most traditional way to build a career in Hollywood, but Ross has somehow managed to make his mark without ever compromising who he is. He is as serious about this as he is about Golden Girls trivia: You don't need to change who you are to achieve your dreams (although there's nothing wrong with a makeover every now and then). You just need to Man Up!
 
My Thoughts/Review:
 
Ross Mathews started on the tonight show as an intern and he takes you on a journey through his life, through all of his ups and downs. This book brings a very good message to everyone that read its; to man up, to always be yourself and don't let people put you down for it. It is also laugh out loud funny.

With each new chapter came a new story that was even more funny than the last. I loved learning about Ross' life and all of his struggles that he had to go through. I have been following Ross every since he started on the tonight show. I used to follow his blog and watch all of his talkies. He is super funny and wrote a really touching uplifting fun read. I really can't wait for him to right another book. It was book that I really need to read, especially with being in a little slump in my life and what I have been reading.

The book even has a foreword by Gwyneth Paltrow, an afterword by Chelsea Handler, and a blurb by Jay Leno. What more can you ask for from a book. If you need a light, hysterical, and touching read I recommend you pick up this awesome book. You need to go out and get yourself a copy. If you buy it from Target, which I did, you can get an autographed copy. I really can't wait to see more from Ross Mathews.
 
 
Overall, I give this book:
 
5 out of 5 Stars
 
 
Link to Check it Out:
add to goodreads
 
 
 
 
Thanks for Visiting
 
and
 
Happy Reading. =]
 
 
-Michael

Wednesday, June 19, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday: Never Fade (The Darkest Minds #2) by Alexandra Bracken

 
For those of you who don't know "Waiting On" Wednesday is an event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to let others know which book you are anticipating and can't wait till it comes out to read it.
 
 Never Fade (The Darkest Minds, #2)
Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken
Hardcover, 512 pages
Expected publication: October 15th 2013 by Disney-Hyperion
 
add to goodreads
Synopsis:
 
 Ruby never asked for the abilities that almost cost her her life. Now she must call upon them on a daily basis, leading dangerous missions to bring down a corrupt government and breaking into the minds of her enemies. Other kids in the Children’s League call Ruby “Leader”, but she knows what she really is: a monster.

When Ruby is entrusted with an explosive secret, she must embark on her most dangerous mission yet: leaving the Children’s League behind. Crucial information about the disease that killed most of America’s children—and turned Ruby and the others who lived into feared and hated outcasts—has survived every attempt to destroy it. But the truth is only saved in one place: a flash drive in the hands of Liam Stewart, the boy Ruby once believed was her future—and who now wouldn’t recognize her.

As Ruby sets out across a desperate, lawless country to find Liam—and answers about the catastrophe that has ripped both her life and America apart—she is torn between old friends and the promise she made to serve the League. Ruby will do anything to protect the people she loves. But what if winning the war means losing herself?
 
Why I am Waiting:
I absolutely loved The Darkest Minds. It was one of my favorite reads of 2012. I so can not wait for this sequel. I fell in love with Ruby and all of the other characters and their story. I can not wait to see how the it continues and what happens. If you haven't read The Darkest Minds yet then you freaking need to, like now. When I saw that the title and cover of this was on Goodreads I freaked out because I really can't wait, as I am sure you can tell since I just ranted about it so much. =]
 
Let me know in the comments if you are excited for this one as well.
 

Link me up to your WoW picks in the comments this week. =]


 
Thanks for Visiting
 
 
and
 

Happy Reading. =]
 
 
 
-Michael

Tuesday, June 18, 2013

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
 
Grab your current read
 
Open to a random page
 
Share two(2) "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page
BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn't give too much away! You don't want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title and author, too, so that other TT paricipants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers. =]
The Emerald Tablet (Legends of Amun Ra, #1)
The Emerald Tablet by Joshua Silverman
Paperback, First, 408 pages
Published September 15th 2012 by Enchanted Forest Press
 
 
add to goodreads
 
Here are my teasers this week:
 
 
"You were successful in setting up the trust factor between you and Kem. He relies on you more than he'll ever admit. We can exploit that need when the time comes."
 
 
Thanks for visiting my Teaser Tuesday this week.
 
 
 Link me up to your teasers in the comments below.
 
 
Happy Reading.
 
-Michael

Sunday, June 16, 2013

Comic Book Reviews: Saga Vol. 1, Wolverine and the X-men Vol. 1, and Avatar: The Last Airbender: The Search: Part One

Here are some review of a few of the comic books I have started to read and finished in the past few weeks.
 
 
Saga #1
Saga Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples
Paperback, 48 pages
Published March 14th 2012 by Image Comics
 
add to goodreads

Synopsis:

When two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall in love, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous old universe.

From New York Times bestselling writer Brian K. Vaughan (Y: The Last Man, Ex Machina) and critically acclaimed artist Fiona Staples (Mystery Society, North 40), Saga is the sweeping tale of one young family fighting to find their place in the worlds. Fantasy and science fiction are wed like never before in this sexy, subversive drama for adults.

 
My Thoughts/Review:
 
Awesome comic. Weird, amazing, Sci-fi fantasy. Can't wait to read Volume 2. It is really hard to describe this comic, you have to go read the synopsis to understand what it is all about.  Love that it was narrated by a baby. Also that it has two different sides fighting a war in space. Really loved this comic. I had such awesome writing and art. The story was so moving and interesting. I completely understand why a ton of people love it. =]
 
Wolverine and the X-Men, Vol. 1,
 Wolverine and the X-Men Vol. 1 by Jason Aaron, Chris Bachalo and Nick Bradshaw
Paperback, 112 pages
Published May 2nd 2012 by Marvel Comics
 
add to goodreads

Synopsis:

Spinning directly out of X-MEN: SCHISM, the X-Men are split in two. In the oversized debut issue of the new ongoing flagship X-series, Wolverine takes one half of the X-Men back to Westchester to start over again with a new school, a new student body and a lot of surprises up his sleeve. But when the new Hellfire Club decides they don't like what the ol' Canucklehead has started, and decide to burn the place to the ground, will the school even outlast its first day?
 
My Thoughts/Review:
 
So glad I started this series. Awesome recommendation from Comicbookgirl19 from Youtube. Can't wait to delve more into this comic. Really like the change in art for the 4th issue. Can't wait to see where it is going to go. Love the characters like Wolverine, Iceman, Beast, Kitty Pryde and all the new X-men. Wish there was more issues in each volume though, a little expensive for only 4 issues. Wasn't so happy for the art for the first couple issues. Really hope that the art gets less cluttered as the comics go along. =] 
 
Avatar: The Last Airbender - The Search Part 1
Avatar: The Last Airbender: The Search: Part One by Gene Luen Yang
Paperback, 80 pages
Published April 2nd 2013 by Dark Horse Comics
 
add to goodreads

Synopsis:

For years, fans of Avatar: The Last Airbender and The Legend of Korra have burned with one question - what happened to Fire Lord Zuko's mother? Finding a clue at last, Zuko enlists the aid of Team Avatar - and the most unlikely ally of all - to help uncover the biggest secret of his life. Written and drawn by the creative team behind the bestselling Avatar: The Promise, Gene Luen Yang and Gurihiru, in collaboration with Avatar and Korra creators Michael Dante DiMartino and Bryan Konietzko, this is the perfect companion to The Legend of Korra!
 
My Thoughts/Review:
 
Awesome continuation of this series. Love the background story about Zuko's mother. Can't wait to find out what happens to her. Loved the part about Azula and her insanity. Really loved the secrecy about Zuko's mother. Can not wait to find out how the wolf spirit plays into this. Also can't wait to find out about the repercussions of the humongous shocker at the end of this part. Really can't wait. Loved the suspense, intrigue and mystery. Overall, I have absolutely loved all of these graphic novels. =]

Overall, I gave all of these comics:
 
"Visually pleasing with amazing stories to go along with the art."
5 out of 5 Stars

Hope you enjoyed my quick reviews of these comics.

Let me know if the comments if you read them or if you plan on reading them. Also if you read them let me know how you liked them.


Thanks for Visiting


Happy Reading!!! =]


-Michael