Thursday, December 29, 2011

Review #34: The Warlock by Michael Scott

The Warlock (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, #5)

  • Publisher: Random House Children's Books-Delacorte Press
  • Publication date: 5/24/2011
  • Pages: 400

  • 
    Synopsis
    The fifth book in the New York Times bestselling series The Secrets of the Nicholas Flamel—The Warlock

    Alcatraz:
    Although their ally Dr. John Dee has been declared utlaga, Machiavelli and Billy the Kid will follow the plans the Elders have laid before them: they will loose the monsters of Alcatraz on the city of San Francisco, thereby triggering the end of the humani race.

    Danu Talis:
    The Shadowrealm that Scatty and Joan of Arc have entered is far more dangerous than they could ever have imagined. And they haven’t landed here by chance-the warriors were called for a reason. So were Saint-Germain, Palamededs, and Shakespeare. The group was summoned because they must travel back in time to Danu Talis and destroy it. For the island of Danu Talis, known in humani myth as the lost city of Atlantis, must fall if the modern world is to exist.

    San Francisco:
    The end is finally near. Josh Newman has chosen a side, and he will not stand with his sister, Sophie, or with the Alchemyst, Nicholas Flamel. He will fight alongside Dee and the mysterious Virginia Dare. Unless Sophie can find her twin before the battle begins, all is lost – forever.

    In the fifth installment of this bestselling series, the twins of prophecy have been divided, and the end is finally beginning.

    My Thoughts/Review

    The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel Series has been just fantastic. I am so glad I started it years ago. The story is just so unique I have never read anything like it before. The characters in the books use their auras to control magic. Could you imagine if you were able to do that. They even focus on elemental magic through being able to control Air, Fire, Water and Earth. The series mainly focuses on Sophie and Josh Newman. They are twins that have the power to save the world or destroy it. The characters so far have been on an amazing whirl wind of an adventure from the very first novel. Michael Scott has such great knowledge on mythology that he uses people from mythology and history throughout this series. For instances, Virginia Dare, Billy the Kid, Odin, Anubis, Nicholas Flamel, etc.. all make appearances in this series. Some of them are immortals, Elders, Dark Elders who either have lived on Earth for centuries or in different shadow realms that connect to Earth. They all fight against each other and are on different sides of a battle of epic proportions. If you haven't started this series yet, I suggest it to everyone. It has so much elements and uniqueness in it, that I think everyone will enjoy the adventure in it.
    .
    The end of the last book ended in a way that I had no idea what was going to happen in this book. All of the characters were in tough situations that I had no idea what would happen next. The Warlock definitely clears up a lot of what happens next and the adventure continues in many very exciting different ways. 
    The Warlock in my opinion doesn't disappoint. Wow is all I can say about this book. It is probably the fastest I have ever read one of the books in this series. I normally want to go as slow as possible to make the experience last longer. But this one I just couldn't wait because it was so good. There was a lot of adventure and excitement throughout. It is so fast paced, I just loved every second of it to be able to learn about this amazing world that Scott created with intriguing characters and awesome locations.

     The ending was such a shocker I was not expecting that one at all. It was so good, it completely blew my mind. The writing was fantastic. I love the direction the story is going in. It couldn't be better. This series is so amazing and historical and magical. Everyone should read it. Sometimes I wish I had an index to go with all the awesome characters in this book but overall this one was fantastic. I can not get enough of this series. I can not say enough about this series. It is so special and good in a unique way that I can't come up with the correct words to say how much I love this series. I can relate so much because I am a twin myself and can  understand the special bond that Josh and Sophie go through. If I was in there situation I don't know what I would do. It sounds like they have a difficult road to face in the next book. I really hope that everything gets worked out in the end. I can't wait to read The Enchantress, the sixth and last book in the series. I so badly want to find out what happens and if everthing gets resolved. May 2012 can not come fast enough.

    Overall I give this book...
    Awesome Fast-Paced, Adventurous book, Can't wait to find out what happens next. =]
    5 out of 5 Stars


    Links to Check it Out:
    Goodreads
     
     
    Thanks for Visiting and Happy Reading

    -Michael

    Wednesday, December 28, 2011

    Waiting on Wednesday: After the Snow by S.D. Crockett


  • Publisher: Feiwel & Friends An Imprint of Macmillan
  • Publication date: 3/27/2012
  • Pages: 304

  • For those of you who don't know "Waiting On" Wednesday is an event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to let others know which book you are anitcipating and can't wait til it comes out to read it.


    After the Snow

    Synopsis:
    A new Ice Age has descended on Earth. Chilling.
    The oceans stopped working before Willo was born, so the world of ice and snow is all he's ever known. He lives with his family deep in the wilderness, far from the government's controlling grasp. Willo's survival skills are put to the test when he arrives home one day to find his family gone. It could be the government; it could be scavengers--all Willo knows is he has to find refuge and his family. It is a journey that will take him into the city he's always avoided, with a girl who needs his help more than he knows.

    Fifteen-year-old Willo was out hunting when the trucks came and took his family away. Left alone in the snow, Willo becomes determined to find and rescue his family, and he knows just who to talk with to learn where they are. He plans to head across the mountains and make Farmer Geraint tell him where his family has gone.

    But on the way across the mountain, he finds Mary, a refugee from the city, whose father is lost and who is starving to death. The smart thing to do would be to leave her alone -- he doesn't have enough supplies for two or the time to take care of a girl -- but Willo just can't do it. However, with the world trapped in an ice age, the odds of them surviving on their own are not good. And even if he does manage to keep Mary safe, what about finding his family?.


    This story, and especially the narrative voice, are among the most distinctive and memorable we've ever read. After the Snow will be published simultaneously by Macmillan in the UK after a heated auction. Bundle up!

    Why I am Waiting:
    First of all the cover looks amazing. The story sounds fantastic. I want to go on the adventure with them and can not wait til March when this story comes out. I want to find out where Willo's parents were taken and what happened to them. This story just sounds amazing. =]


    Let me know what you are waiting for this wednesday in the comments and link me up.

    -Michael

    Monday, December 26, 2011

    Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite Books I Read in 2011

    Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish. They  love to share lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see others top ten lists.

    Divergent (Divergent #1)I hope all of you reading this had a good Christmas and Happy Holidays and you got all the books you wanted this year. It is so hard to come up with just 10, there were so many great books this year. Here is my attempt at only Ten of all of my favorite books I read in 2011. =]

    1) by Veronica Roth
    The writing and the story was awesome. Completely Unique and unlike nothing I have ever read. Pure awesomeness. Can't wait for book 2.

    Science Fiction reimagined. Also Completely Unique. Awesome writing with great twists and turns. Also can't wait for book 2 in January. =]
    3) by George R. R. Martin
    This book caught me by surprise. It has been out for awhile and I only just learned of it this year because of the HBO show. Love the intricacy and plot twist and turns with amazing characters.
    Across the Universe (Across the Universe, #1)4) by Chelsea Handler
    Completely funny and hysterical every time. I love reading her books no mater what I know I will laugh out loud. Definitely a pick me up book. =]

    5) by Jackson Pearce
    Little Red Riding Hood + Werewolves. Count me in. I loved this retelling, awesome imaginative story. Can't wait to read Sweetly.

    6) by Ransom Riggs
    Loved the creepiness and budding you love in this unique weird book that I really want more of and can't wait for book 2. =]

    7) by Claudia Gray
    I really love the Titanic and adding werewolves into the mix made it ever more awesome. A really really good read and satisfied my love of Titanic. =]

    The Power of Six (Lorien Legacies, #2)8) by Cinda Williams Chima
    Really awesome imaginative magical book. I loved the uniqueness of the world that Chima created. I really can't wait to read her other books.
    9) by Michael Scott
    All of the books in this series are magical historical and completely awesome reads. Scott weaves such an awesome story with such great detail and magic I couldn't wait to read each one as it came out. =]

    10) by Pittacus Lore
    I just finished this one and I read it so fast. Completely awesome. I love this story about aliens who basically have superpowers. I wish I was one of them. Really can't wait for the third book in this series. =]

    All of these books were 5 Stars and completely awesome to me. This year was an awesome year of reading awesome books. I suggest all of you read them all. Link me up to your favorite books this year and I might get some new ideas to read some awesome books. =]

    Thanks for Visiting and Happy Reading. =]

    -Michael





    Thursday, December 22, 2011

    Follow Friday(6)


     
    Follow Friday is a weekly event hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read.
     
    This week's Question is:
     If you had to spend an eternity inside the pages of a book which book would you choose and why?
     
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7)
     
    This is such an awesome question. I have two books I would pick. Can't pick just one.
    First would be the obvious choice for many people Harry Potter. I love the idea of magic and using wands and witchcraft and wizardry. I woud just have so much fun in that world. My brother and I already fake do spells at each other. It woud be awesome if it was all real. And I know I could kick some Voldemort butt. =]
     
    Inheritance (Inheritance, #4)
     
    My second choice would have to be the world of Eragon. I would love the adventure aspect and again the world of spells and magic and dragaons. I would especially love seeing all the different races and learn from them all. It would be so fun. =]
     
    Let me know in the comment what world you would want to live in and link me up to your Follow Friday so I can follow you. =]
     
    Happy Reading
     
    Michael. =]

    In My Mailbox(14) December, Before Christmas Edition

    In My Mailbox is a weekly feature/meme/video hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren. It is where you tell everyone what you got this week book wise in your mailbox or whatever. =]
    I got a few books all through December so I decided to do a combination of all the books I got for the month. =]
    For Review:
     by Kerry Downing
    Time Slice
    Won
     by Kevin M. Turner
    The Magi
    This ebook copy that I won looks really good and I can't wait to read it. =]
    Bought
     by Beth Revis
    Across the Universe

    If you bought a paperback copy of Across the Universe from Beth Revis's local bookstore she would sign a personalized copy to you and add in swag with the package so that is what I did. =]
    Can you tell I am super excited about having my own signed personalized copy. =]

    Also the fantastic amazing Lisa Schroeder offered for a few days personalized signed bookplates I could put in her books. They are really super awesome. =]



    Also awhile ago Jackson Pearce sent me a Sisters Red Bookplate and a few others that I will be giveaway sometime later on. =]


    Also I got a whole bunch of swag some that I mentioned earlier in this post. =]

    I also got an Across the Universe Bracelet thing and a Poster that I forgot to include in the picture. =]

    Overall December was an awesome month for me and this doesn't even include the stuff Santa will hopefully bring me for Christmas. =]
    That is all I got in my mailbox this week. Let me know in the comments what you got in yours. =]

    Also I reached 250 Followers this week. I am so thankful to all of my followers. Thank you for reading my rants and my reviews. I hope I have introduced a few of you to some awesome reads. I still hope my blog will grow and be more enjoyable to more followers. =] 

    Thanks for Visiting and Happy Reading. =]
    -Michael

    And The Winner is...


    She won my giveaway of The Fox Inheritance Audiobook by Mary E. Pearson.
    She was contacted and emailed and has already replied back.

    Thanks again to Macmillan Audio for letting me host this awesome giveaway.


    Happy Reading Everyone =]

    -Michael

    Wednesday, December 21, 2011

    Waiting on Wednesday: The Enchantress by Michael Scott


    For those of you who don't know "Waiting On" Wednesday is an event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to let others know which book you are anitcipating and can't wait til it comes out to read it.
    The Enchantress (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, #6)

  • Publisher: Random House Children's Books
  • Delacorte Press for Young Readers
  • Publication date: 5/22/2012
  • Pages: 416

  • The twins of prophecy have been split. Nicholas Flamel is near death. John Dee has the swords of power. And Danu Talis has yet to fall. The future of the human race lies in the balance—how will the legend end?
    The sixth and final book in the New York Times bestselling series The Secrets of the Nicholas Flamel—The Enchantress
    Currently set to release in May 22 2012.

    Why I am Waiting:
    I am currently reading the 5th book in this series and I can not wait to find out what happens in the end. It is releasing in May which isn't that long of a way off. The cover looks awesome and amazing. This series has been so good I don't want it to end but I really want to read the book at the same time. =]

    Let me know what you are waiting for this wednesday in the comments and link me up.

    P.S. Let me know what you think of my new Waiting on Wednesday picture. =]

    -Michael


    Tuesday, December 20, 2011

    Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Hope Santa Brings


    Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish. They  love to share lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see others top ten lists!

    Here are the Top Ten Books I hope Santa Brings. I might not get to Ten because I didn't ask for much this year but I am going to try. =]

    The Hunger Games Trilogy Boxed Set1)  by Suzanne Collins

    2) by Suzanne Collins

    3) by Suzanne Collins

    I read The Hunger Game Series all as ebooks on my NookColor and they are such awesome books that for Christmas I wanted them in physical form as well to put on my Bookshelf. =]


    4) by Michael Scott and Colette Freedmen

    I love Michael Scott's The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series and I want to read his new adult series. =]


    The Warrior Heir (The Heir Chronicles, #1)5) by Cinda Williams Chima

    6) by Cinda Williams Chima

    7) by Cinda Williams Chima

    I read The Warrior Heir also as an ebook on my Nookcolor and I still have to read the other two. So I am asking Santa for all of them in physical form. =]

    8) by George R.R. Martin
    I have only read the first one in this series and have all the rest to read except this one and I am hoping for a complete set this Christmas. =]

    9) Barnes and Noble Gift Card

    10)Amazon Gift Card

    Couldn't think of anymore books so I listed the gift cards I wanted so I can buy more books later. =]

    Link me up to your list of what you hope Santa brings you this year. Maybe I can get a good idea of other books I can buy with my gift cards I hope I get. =]

    Thanks for Visiting and Happy Reading. =]

    -Michael



    Saturday, December 17, 2011

    Guest Post by Daniel McInerny(Author of Stout Hearts and Whizzing Biscuits)

    I have a special guest today visiting my blog. Daniel McInerny is stopping by to do a guest post talking about his new imaginative children's book, Stout Hearts and Whizzing Biscuits. I definitely recommend his book to all of your children for christmas.

    Here is my Review of Stout Hearts and Whizzing Biscuits if you would like to see what I had to say about it. =]

    With out further ado, Here is the guest post I promised:

    The Sleeping Giant: A Patria Story
    A Guest Post by children’s author Daniel McInerny

    It is no secret that sales of eBooks and eReaders are booming. The coming Christmas Season will doubtless show an even sharper spike, even into the first two-to-three months of 2012, as folks who next week unwrap shiny new eReaders will be scrambling for content.

    A sleeping giant in this trend toward electronic reading is the children’s market. Not that nothing is happening in this area. Top publishing houses are busy making children’s books available as eBooks (just take a look at the Kindle Kids section on Amazon, and the Nook Kids section at Barnes & Noble). Then there are the uTales apps for the iPad. Not to mention the elephant in the room with this sleeping giant: J.K. Rowling’s much anticipated “Pottermore” website and the first-ever release of the Harry Potter books as eBooks.

    Yet my hunch as a children’s author and children’s entertainment entrepreneur, is that the children’s eBook market is burgeoning with potential. Children love electric technology, and today’s children are so immersed in it, it seems inevitable that, as eBooks and eReaders become more and more prevalent, more and more children will be reading electronically.

    Imagining Patria
    In the Summer of 2011 I founded a company, Trojan Tub Entertainment, that looks to make a positive contribution to this trend. Trojan Tub features my “Patria” humorous adventure stories for middle grade readers, meaning readers from the ages of approximately 8 to 13.

    Like many writers of children's stories, my apprenticeship began in a family room chair with kids on my lap as I made up a bedtime story. I vividly remember the first time I told a Patria story, sitting with my two little girls (now teenagers). They were very different stories then. Years later, as I began to write them down, the nature of Patria changed. What began as a fantasy world, in the sense of "high fantasy," became something "fantastical." Patria as I re-defined it no longer was discovered in another world. Patria became part of our world—that is, given a rather wacky take on ancient history.
    So where is Patria? Northern Indiana. I can’t be more specific than that. The precise location of Patria is a well-kept secret. You’ve heard of the government’s Area 51? Patria is Area 1.  
    The first book in the Patria series is called Stout Hearts & Whizzing Biscuits. Here’s a synopsis:  
    When Oliver Stoop, age 11, moves with his family to a remote piece of land in northern Indiana, he soon discovers that someone is already living there—an entire kingdom of someones, in fact. These are the good citizens of Patria, a secret land founded by refugees from the Trojan War who sailed across the Atlantic in a reconfigured Trojan Horse—3,000 years ago!  

    For Oliver, Patria is a land of wonders—and for the first time in his life, friendship. There's young Prince Farnsworth Vesuvius, inventor of the Magna-Pneumatic Whizzing Biscuit Blaster, and his formidable sister, Princess Rose, whose inedible, stone-hard biscuits provide the blaster's ammunition. But there's also the rest of the eccentric and lovable Patrian Royal Family, the boy warriors in the Potawatomi Indian Camp, not to mention the Viking kids from the Geat Village, newcomers to the area who only arrived 1,000 years ago. 

    Yet when the noble Knights of the Blue Sock threaten to drive off the Stoops by force of arms, Oliver has to decide where his loyalties lie, and whether he has the courage to undertake the quest that is both Patria's, and his family's, last, best hope of peace.

    Going Electric

    Stout Hearts & Whizzing Biscuits is only available as an eBook. It’s available at Amazon (for the absurdly low price of $2.99), as well as at barnesandnoble.com’s Nook Store and iTunes. The audiobook, read by the author, is also available at Worldwide Audiobooks ($4.99).

    So no hardcover or paperback? Nope. Trojan Tub Entertainment is a digital project, all the way down to the 1’s and 0’s. This means that Stout Hearts & Whizzing Biscuits and my other Patria stories will only be available as electronic documents to be read on eReaders such as Kindles and Nooks, iPads and laptops.



    Why, by the way, do I call my company “Trojan Tub” Entertainment? Present-day Patrians are descended from Trojans who escaped from the burning city of Troy in a reconfigured Trojan Horse. With the legs cut off and sliced down the middle, the Horse made for a fantastic hull. This is the Trojan Tub, and a replica of it in the library of Patria Castle plays an important part in the climax of Stout Hearts & Whizzing Biscuits.

    The Kingdom of Patria


    Trojan Tub Entertainment is not only about the Patria eBooks. There is also a companion Kingdom of Patria website at http://kingdomofpatria.com. The Kingdom of Patria is a place for kids and families to play—to enjoy free Patria short stories, listen to audio, join one of two Patria “clubs”—either the Illustrious Order of Knights of the Blue Sock, or Madame Mimi’s Well-Ordered School for Ill-Mannered Girls—as well as read blog posts from Patria’s main characters: Oliver, Farnsworth, and Princess Rose.

    I hope you and your family and friends will visit the site, as well as download your copy of Stout Hearts & Whizzing Biscuits. And if you are so inclined, “Like” Trojan Tub’s Facebook page, and follow me and the company on Twitter: @kingdomofpatria.

    The second book in the Patria series, Stoop of Mastodon Meadow, which continues Oliver’s adventures in Patria, will be released in early January 2012.

    Daniel McInerny, founder and CEO of Trojan Tub Entertainment, is a native of South Bend, Indiana (just downriver from Patria). He holds a PhD in philosophy, and taught for many years at various universities in the United States. He currently lives in Virginia with his wife, Amy, and his children, Lucy, Rita and Francis. He also writes the blog, High Concepts, devoted to the arts, entertainment and culture (http://danielmcinerny.blogspot.com/). Please write to him with questions and comments: danielmcinerny@kingdomofpatria.com.

    Here are some more Links to Check Out Daniels Childrens Book:


    Thanks Daniel for Writing this awesome guest post and I hope you guys go check out his awesome book. I can't wait for more stories from Patria. =]

    -Michael


    Thursday, December 15, 2011

    Follow Friday(5)



     
    Follow Friday is a weekly event hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read.
     
    This week's Question is:
     

    Question of the Week: When you've read a book, what do you do with it? (Keep it, give it away, donate it, sell it, swap it..?)

    I must be a scrooge when it comes to my books. I don't share my books at all. I sit and count them all to my hearts desire. Just kidding about the counting part lol. But I do love my books and barely ever share them. Once I finish reading a book I keep all of them on my bookshelf and that is basically where I just stare at them and sometimes pet them all day long(kidding again) lol. The point is I really don't like people touching my books and ruining them. I hate when people dog ear books and get stains all on them. So basically I keep my books to myself. =]
     
    Also I forgot to mention I also keep a ton of ebooks on my NookColor. =]

    What do you do with your books when you are done reading them?

    Link me up in the comments section and let me know. =]
     
    P.S. Also don't forget to Enter my Giveaway of The Fox Inheritance Audiobook. =]

    -Michael

    Review #33: Cinder by Marissa Meyer/Cinder Audiobook

    Cinder (Lunar Chronicles, #1)



  • Publisher: Feiwel & Friends An Imprint of Macmillan
  • Publication date: 1/3/2012
  • Pages: 400

  • Disclaimer: I receive an ebook copy through NetGalley from Macmillan for an honest and fair review. =]
    I also received an Audiobook copy of Cinder through the awesome people at Macmillan Audio for a fair and honest review. =]

    Synopsis:
    Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .

    Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

    My Thoughts/Review:
    There are so many awesome books that are coming out in 2012 and this is definitely one of them. I can not tell you how fantastic this book was. At first when I read the synopsis I didn't get it and wasn't sure if I would like it. Well I was dead wrong and DO NOT let it stop you from reading it. This is a sort of retelling of Cinderella told in a uniquely awesome way. Marissa Meyer is an amazing writer and is completely imaginative. I mean her book is filled to the brim with imagination. Cyborgs, Androids, A Plague, Lunar Moon People, a future world filled with new technology, etc... What more could you ask for in a book. This is a novel you can really get yourself invested in. Cinder is a series and I think there are supposed to be three more books in the series and I can't wait for them.   

    From the first words I listened to and read I just knew Cinder would be a fantastic book. It opens in such a unique way and if you have read the book you know what I am talking about. If you choose to listen to the clip below it is in the clip. The audio book was truly amazing. I really loved listening to it. The narrator was really talented. She had such a wide range of voices that she used throughout the book for all the different characters. I listened to the audio book everywhere on my MP3 player, on my breaks and lunches at work and even before going to bed. The novel is broken into 4 sections and at the beginning of each section there is a quote from the original Cinderella and I thought that was just genius. I am completely a fan of quotes and these just added to the book even more. This book was so addicting and fantastic I had to listen/read it whenever I could.

    Here is a Clip of the awesome Cinder Audiobook:
    Cinder webclip by TheBookshelfRev

    Cinder was such an amazing character. I really related to Cinder. Everyone that reads this should be able to relate to Cinder. Everyone at some point in their life has felt like they were an outcast or different from everyone else. Cinder feels like this everyday because she is a Cyborg. I really loved her personality and her strength. All of the characters in this book had many different dynamics that made you like all of them and hate some of them at the same time. I could understand why Adri and Pearl got mad at Cinder but I didn't like the way they treated her and hated them both the same. Two of my other favorite characters were Iko and Peony. Iko is Cinders friend and an Android who has such a great personality that made her come to life off the pages. Peony is one of Cinders stepsisters and the only person that is truly nice to Cinder. I really liked her for her kindness and simple innocence of the world. Another thing I loved was the world and Eastern Commonwealth the book was set in. It is kind of dystopian like in where this world could happen in the distant future. I would never have thought up this brillant future and way this earth turned out but that is why Marissa Meyer is such an imaginative writer

    This book was really my kind of book. I love Sci-fi and Dystopian type books and if you like these genres then this is definitely a book for you too. I guessed the big plot twist that happens at the end but that didn't take away from the book at all. I definitely suggest that everyone get there hands on a copy of this in 2012 and read it. Since I got Cinder from NetGalley I don't have a physical copy of it and since it was so good I think I will have to go out and buy one. Cinder is definitely a book that deserves a place on my bookshelf. One of the most unique books I have ever read. Meyer has a great future and career in writing ahead of her as long as she continues to write amazing books. It definitely is a great thing that this is only book one of a series that I know will be fantastic I can not wait to read the sequel of The Lunar Chronicles. I don't want to wait all this time til 2013 for the next one. You need to pick up this book and read it. It was purely awesome and amazing in every way.


    Overall I give this book...
    So Creative and Original, you have to buy this book. =]
    5 out of 5 Stars

    Links to Check Out/Preorder:
    Goodreads
    Barnes and Noble
    Amazon
    Marissa Meyer Website
    Marissa Meyer Facebook
    The Lunar Chronicles Facebook


    Thanks for Visiting and Happy Reading

    -Michael


    

    Tuesday, December 13, 2011

    Giveaway: The Fox Inheritance Audiobook by Mary E. Pearson =]

    The Fox Inheritance
     Synopsis:
    Once there were three. Three friends who loved each other—Jenna, Locke, and Kara. And after a terrible accident destroyed their bodies, their three minds were kept alive, spinning in a digital netherworld. Even in that disembodied nightmare, they were still together. At least at first. When Jenna disappeared, Locke and Kara had to go on without her. Decades passed, and then centuries.

    Two-hundred-and-sixty years later, they have been released at last. Given new, perfect bodies, Locke and Kara awaken to a world they know nothing about, where everyone they once knew and loved is long dead.

    Everyone except Jenna Fox.

    Thanks to the Awesome People at Macmillan Audio, I am giving away a copy of The Fox Inheritance Audiobook by Mary E. Pearson. =]

    I acutally listened to some of this audiobook using Overdrive from my local library and I can tell you that it is fantastic and is read by such an awesome narrator, it really helped bring the story to life for me. =]
    If you want to check out my Review of The Fox Inheritance you can check it out HERE. =]
    Here is a Clip to get you excited for this Audiobook Giveaway. =]

    Fox Inheritance, Web Clip by TheBookshelfRev

    Giveaway Info and Rules:
    Must be 13 years or older.
    ***You don't have to be a follower, but following and doing the extra entries is always appreciated. =]
    ***US Only Giveaway
    Ends on 12/20/11 at Midnight.
    Winner has 48 hours to respond to prize notification email. If winner fails to respond, a new winner will be selected.
    Winner will be selected by random.org.
    ONE entry per person. If you enter it a second time by accident that is understandable. But if there are more entries then you will be disqualified.
    Macmillan Audio will be sending out the prize to the lucky winner.
    I am not responsible for loss or damage of prize while in transit.
    Enter the Rafflecopter Form Below. =]




    Teaser Tuesday



    Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading.
    Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
    Grab your current read
    Open to a random page
    Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
    BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
    Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
    The Warlock (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, #5)

    My Teaser
    "Finally, when he was exhausted, he looked at the woman who had been his wife, the woman he had loved above all others and the woman who had bound him to to this eternity of suffering. "What do you want, Zephaniah?" he asked in a ragged whisper. "Have you come to mock me?"
    "Why husband," the old woman said with a gap-toothed smile. "I have come to free you. It is time: this world needs a warlock again."

    Sunday, December 11, 2011

    Review #32: The Fox Inheritance by Mary E. Pearson

    The Fox Inheritance
    

  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. an imprint of Macmillan 
  • Publication date: 8/30/2011
  • Pages: 304
  • Disclaimer: I won this ARC from Sash and Em's blog. =]

    Also this review contains spoilers from the Adoration of Jenna Fox but NOT the book itself. =]
    Synopsis:
    Once there were three. Three friends who loved each other—Jenna, Locke, and Kara. And after a terrible accident destroyed their bodies, their three minds were kept alive, spinning in a digital netherworld. Even in that disembodied nightmare, they were still together. At least at first. When Jenna disappeared, Locke and Kara had to go on without her. Decades passed, and then centuries.

    Two-hundred-and-sixty years later, they have been released at last. Given new, perfect bodies, Locke and Kara awaken to a world they know nothing about, where everyone they once knew and loved is long dead.

    Everyone except Jenna Fox.

    My Thoughts/Review:
    The Adoration of Jenna Fox was so good to begin with that I was so happy that this book was just as awesome if not better. The Fox Inheritance completely captured me and I was so engrossed into the story once I actually got invested into it. I won this one from a blog and I hadn't read the first one. So I had to read the first before I started this one. I started this one right away after I read The Adoration of Jenna Fox because this is series is just that good. I am so glad that I started this one right away. It was everything I thought it would be and more. 

    This book features Locke and Kara from the first book. They both have been woken up by a sketchy Doctor and must face a new world where they don't know anyone in it except for Jenna Fox. Locke and Kara are both such amazing and deep characters that were crafted in an amazing way by Mary E. Pearson. Her writing style is completely unique and really makes you think. All of the characters especially Dot, Locke and Miesha were likeable and relatable. I really related to Locke so much. I loved that this book was told in the male perspective. It really gave a whole new perspective that hasn't really been done all that often. This novel has suspense and adventure in a whole new world 260 years in the future. This book was intriguing and thought provoking and I loved every aspect of it. The Fox Inheritance really challenged what the meaning of friendship is and if it could really last over many many years.

     I wasn't expecting the ending at all. I was shocked at the outcomes and I loved the twists and turns the story went in. I understood that it had to go in that way but I really didn't think that was going to happen. You will know what I am talking about if you read the book. I wanted the ending to be better and perfect but sometimes in stories that can't happen. It ended in such a way that it could be left alone. But at the end in the acknowledgements Mary E. Pearson hints that their could possibly be a third book. I really hope their is a third book. I really want more. I want Locke's journey to continue. I really want more story.
    I know alot of people loved The Adoration of Jenna Fox and think it should have been left alone but I am not one of those people. I really loved that Mary E. Pearson made a sequel.


    Overall I give this book...
    Very Deep and Awesome Sequel from Pearson. =]
    5 out of 5 Stars
     
    If you read this book, Let me know in the comments what you thought of it and if you plan on reading it if you read The Adoration of Jenna Fox. =]
     
    Thanks for Visiting and Happy Reading. =]
     
    -Michael