Thursday, May 31, 2012

Book Trailer Thursday

Here are some great book trailers I recently saw that I can't wait to read. =]

Monument 14 by Emmy Laybourne

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Thanks for Visiting and Happy Reading. =]


Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
Grab your current read
Open to a random page
Share two(2) "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page
BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn't give too much away! You don't want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title and author, too, so that other TT paricipants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers. =]

My Teaser(I have two this week again):

“The beautiful thing is, music can be like a time machine. One song- the lyrics, the melody, the mood- can take you back to a moment in time like nothing else can.”
Lisa Schroeder, Chasing Brooklyn

“Life is so freaking hard. How do people do it? How do people get up every day and deal with the shit? It really makes you understand why there are so many messed-up people in the world. I mean, it's tough, trying to deal with demands coming at you from all sides.”
Lisa Schroeder, Chasing Brooklyn

Thanks for Visiting and Happy Reading. =]

Monday, May 28, 2012

Happy Memorial Day!!!

Hope you all have been having a great Memorial Day Weekend.

Have fun at all your parties and get togethers you are going to today.

Hope everyone's barbecues and outings are awesome and exciting.

Don't forget to remember what this day is really about, to remember our military that have served and our currently serving.

I want to thank all of the service men and women for everything they do in serving our county.

Enjoy your day off with your families and friends or even if you don't celebrate don't forget to remember our military.

Thanks for Visiting.

Happy Reading. =]


Friday, May 25, 2012

Follow Friday(14)

FF 2012 Feature & Follow #80

Follow Friday is a weekly event hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read.

This week's Question is:
Q: Activity! Dreamcast your current read.
This one is kind of hard for me because I never am good at casting books but this is going to be my attempt. =]
Currently I am reading Chasing Brooklyn by Lisa Schroeder and I am almost half-way through.
Dream Cast:
Jane Levy from Suburgatory
Cameron Monaghan from Shameless
Both of them are great actors and would do a great job portraying the characters from the book.
Happy Follow Friday.
Thanks for Visiting and Happy Reading. =]

Thursday, May 24, 2012

Behind on my Books

Don't you just hate when you get behind on reading your books. I am sure a lot of people have this problem. I have a ton of books to read on my tbr list. I know that plenty of people have many books to read but I think I have an overwhelming amount. I have a whole bookshelf of books to be read. New more enticing books come out everyday and it makes me get even more behind on the books I want to read.

It really puts new meaning to having so many books to read and yet so little time to actually read them. I really wish I had the time to catch up on reading all of  my books. I hate not being able to read new books immediately once they come out.

So many good books are being released everyday and I can't read them if I am trying to catch up on all the books I already have. Even if I do decide to read a new book that just came out, another one is just going to come out on another day, and I will still have the mountain of books I want to read. I guess that is the plight of a person that is an avid reader.

Goodreads is a website that makes my habbit of wanting to read too many books become even worse. I mean I add books to my tbr list on their almost daily. It is a never ending cycle. I keep finding more and more books I want to read when I'm not even caught up with the books I actually have to read. I am already behind on my 2012 Goodreads Reading Challenge by about 5 books. I really have being behind on reading my books.

One thing I wish is that I could read faster. I know many people are able to get through a book in a day or two while for me it takes twice as long or longer. I just recently decided to reread The Hunger Games and I chose to listen to it on audiobook. While this helped me reread it faster, I know other readers probably could have devoured it way faster than me.

I know I went on a little rant today about how I am behind on my books. But it helps get all my feelings out and I know many other readers have this same problem with the same feelings. So we can all feel that we are not alone and all in this together on our endless plight of forever being behind on reading our books.

Let me know in the comments any ways or methods that you guys have to catch up on your TBR Lists. =]

Thanks for Visiting

Happy Reading


Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Week Hiatus

I took a one week hiatus for a little break from blogging. I now am back and have a ton of reviews and stuff planned for the coming weeks.

Hope you guys didn't miss me too much.

Stay tuned for more posts.

As always

Thanks for Visiting


Happy Reading. =]



Just Some Sharing Time. I got a New Cat. =]

Wednesday, May 16, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday: The Enchantress by Michael Scott

For those of you who don't know "Waiting On" Wednesday is an event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to let others know which book you are anticipating and can't wait til it comes out to read it.

The Enchantress (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, #6)
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 5/22/2012
Pages: 528

The two that are one must become the one that is all. One to save the world, one to destroy it.

San Francisco:
Nicholas and Perenelle Flamel have one day left to live, and one job left to do. They must defend San Francisco. The monsters gathered on Alcatraz Island have been released and are heading toward the city. If they are not stopped, they will destroy everyone and everything in their path.
But even with the help of two of the greatest warriors from history and myth, will the Sorceress and the legendary Alchemyst be able to defend the city? Or is it the beginning of the end of the human race?

Danu Talis:
Sophie and Josh Newman traveled ten thousand years into the past to Danu Talis when they followed Dr. John Dee and Virginia Dare. And it’s on this legendary island that the battle for the world begins and ends.
Scathach, Prometheus, Palamedes, Shakespeare, Saint-Germain, and Joan of Arc are also on the island. And no one is sure what—or who—the twins will be fighting for.

Today the battle for Danu Talis will be won or lost.
But will the twins of legend stand together?
Or will they stand apart—
one to save the world and one to destroy it?

Why I am Waiting:
This is the final book in this awesome series. I really can not wait to find out what will happen. It has all come to this final book. The last book ended on a great cliffhanger that makes me want to read the next one as soon as possible. I really hope this one ends in a fantastic way. I want everything to work out but who really knows what will happen. =]

Let me know in the comments what you are waiting for this wednesday.

Thanks for Visiting

Happy Reading. =]


Sunday, May 13, 2012

Ebook deals

There are a ton of great ebook deals this week. I thought I would share them with you so you could scoop them up onto your ereaders.

$0.99 ebooks

Starcrossed with Bonus Material by Josephine Angelini
Starcrossed with Bonus Material

Soulless by Gail Carriger
Soulless (Parasol Protectorate Series #1)

$2.99 ebooks

Deadly Cool by Gemma Halliday
Deadly Cool

Kiss Crush Collide by Christina Meredith
Kiss Crush Collide

Ship Breaker by
Ship Breaker

Have fun shopping these great deals. =]

Thanks for Visiting and Happy Reading


Saturday, May 12, 2012

Review: Post Script Comic by Graham and Neal Moogk-Soulis

The Fourth Post Script Collection
68 pages
By the Brothers Moogk-Soulis

PostScript Comic is about the aftermath of fairytales as imagined by Graham and Neal Moogk-Soulis.
Graham and Neal read a lot. They own lots of books. And by lots, that means that they are in danger of running out of spaces to put all those books. And their brains are almost full. It’s only natural then, that all of the characters and plot lines from two lifetimes of reading would mash together to bring you the world of PostScript.
Graham and Neal each hold Bachelor and Masters degrees in History from the University of Waterloo. That meant that they read lots of books in school and encountered many different stories. PostScript is a product of their love for fairytales, folklore, mythology, literature, and history. It is also an outlet for the playful manifestations of their twisted little minds. They create PostScript because they love to draw, because they love to write and most of all because they love the material.
My Thoughts/Review:
I got an email from the Moogk-Soulis Brothers asking me to review their collection of Post Script comics that they put on their website. So I investigated their awesome website and decided I really wanted to read these funny looking comics. New strips appear at three days a week and are collected together annually in book form. All of these clever comics in this compilation had me laughing out loud in unexpected ways. I really liked the twists and turns the brothers put into their  unique stories and how they reference many different tales. I was both intrigued and surprised with the humor and awesome story telling that these comics provide. All of the characters the brothers created, that are based on story book characters, really have their own depth and uniqueness that they bring to each strip. Another thing that really suprised me was the quality of the drawings. They are done really well and have so much detail that they take on a form all their own. I really can't wait to check into there website more everyday to read more of their great comic strips. All of you guys should really check their website out and read their PostScript Comics. The fourth collection is available for purchase at their website. Overall, these comics are drawn really well and have such awesome laugh out loud stories that they need to be read.
Overall, I give this comic book:
Really Funny, Well Drawn, Surprisingly Good Comic. =]
5 out of 5 Stars

Also I just wanted to share some of the cool swag Graham and Neal gave me with the review copy.
They included a cool bookmark with a comic strip on it and both of their business cards.
Definitely check out this comic book, it is worth the read.
Thanks for visiting and Happy Reading. =]

Thursday, May 10, 2012

Cover Reveals

Just wanted to share the new covers for two of Jackson Pierce's fairytale retellings series.



I really liked the old covers. But I also really like these new revamped book covers. =]

Thanks for Visiting. =]


Sunday, May 6, 2012

Book-Related Sharing

I wanted to share some things this week that I thought were funny and book-related. =]

Game of Thrones:

Fifty Shades of Grey:

Hope you had some laughs.

Thanks for visiting and Happy Reading


Wednesday, May 2, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday: Spark by Amy Kathleen Ryan

For those of you who don't know "Waiting On" Wednesday is an event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to let others know which book you are anticipating and can't wait til it comes out to read it.

Spark (Sky Chasers, #2)
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication date: 7/17/2012
Pages: 320


Waverly and Kieran are finally reunited on the Empyrean. Kieran has led the boys safely up to this point, and now that the girls are back, their mission seems slightly less impossible: to chase down the New Horizon, and save their parents from the enemy ship. But nothing is truly as it seems…Kieran’s leadership methods have raised Seth’s hackles— and Waverly’s suspicions. Is this really her fiancĂ©? The handsome, loving boy she was torn from just a short time before? More and more, she finds her thoughts aligned with Seth’s. But if Seth is Kieran’s Enemy No. 1, what does that make her?

In one night, a strange explosion rocks the Empyrean—shooting them off course and delaying their pursuit of the New Horizon—and Seth is mysteriously released from the brig. Seth is the most obvious suspect for the explosion, and Waverly the most obvious suspect for releasing him. As the tension reaches a boiling point, will Seth be able to find the true culprit before Kieran locks them both away—or worse? Will Waverly follow her heart, even if it puts lives at risk? With the balance of power precarious and the clock ticking, every decision counts… every step brings them closer to a new beginning, or a sudden end...

Why I am Waiting:

Glow, the first book in this series, was really good and ended on a bad note, so I really want to find out what happens to Waverly and Kieran. July isn't that far off so it will be here very soon. Spark sounds like a great sequel and I really want to find out what happens as they make their way to a new planet. =] Let me know in the comments what you are waiting for. =]

Thanks for Visiting

Happy Reading