Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
Grab your current read
Open to a random page
Share two(2) "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page
BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn't give too much away! You don't want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title and author, too, so that other TT paricipants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers. =]
The Dragon and the Crow
Publisher: Createspace
Dragonfall Press
Publication date: 12/28/2011
Pages: 382

A great power is rising in Arkadia; an uprising of dark magick led by a Witch who wants nothing less than chaos, terror and the King’s head on a stake. She believes in a prophecy — an ancient rhyme about a child unique within the lands; a child destined to bring back the stars and end the King’s rule forever. A child who cannot do magick at all.

Here are my teasers for this week:
(sorry they are semi-long but they are awesome teasers so forgive me and read them) =]

"For two years I've read the scrolls and learned the language, and I know more about magick than anyone here...You ask what the greatest power is, and I know that niether the dwarf magick of Terus, nor the dragon power of Victus is superior, even though I should say that Terus is because my father's a Mender and his spells come from the Green book. Even the elf magick that is so rare that none in Darton is a master or matron of it, is still just one of the three colours and no better than any other. That's the whole point of the system, and it's stupid...None of the scrolls explain anything, and niether do you. Instead we have to run around an obstacle course, trade jewels between rings and sit here and write rubbish answers to a trick question. And to end it all we have to listen to a Wizard from Celenia and hope to hear some more spells. Well I know as many spells as anyone here, but they're as useless as whistling to me."

"No need for a gag for you, little magickless, the Warlock told him and granted him a wink before turning to face the other boys. But, he added, his head titlting to one side, as for the rest of you....
Brin caught one last look at the others, fear in their eyes, before he was once again bundled into the darkness of the canvas sack, the bindings drawn tight."

Thanks for visiting

Happy Reading. =]


Saturday, July 28, 2012

Review: The Near Witch by Victoria Schwab

<>The Near Witch (The Near Witch)
Publisher: Hyperion Books for Children
Publication date: 8/2/2011
Pages: 288

The Near Witch is only an old story told to frighten children.

If the wind calls at night, you must not listen.
The wind is lonely, and always looking for company.
And there are no strangers in the town of Near.

These are the truths that Lexi has heard all her life.

But when an actual stranger—a boy who seems to fade like smoke—appears outside her home on the moor at night, she knows that at least one of these sayings is no longer true.

The next night, the children of Near start disappearing from their beds, and the mysterious boy falls under suspicion. Still, he insists on helping Lexi search for them. Something tells her she can trust him.

As the hunt for the children intensifies, so does Lexi's need to know—about the witch that just might be more than a bedtime story, about the wind that seems to speak through the walls at night, and about the history of this nameless boy.

My Thoughts/Review:
Awesome first novel from Victoria Schwab!!! So excited to read what comes next from her. From the very first sentence I really loved her writing. You get hooked right away into the story and it is very hard to stop reading after you get through the first chapter. It gets even better as the novel goes on. Schwab is able to make her characters come to life on the page. She creates amazing imagery with her words. You can actually see the world she created in your head down to the very last detail.

 The story is about a girl named Lexi who lives in the small town of Near. A stranger comes to town one night and no one knows who he is or why he is there. Then the next day children start disappearing. The town automatically blames the stranger and Lexi sets out on a course to find out what is really happening. The story is so simplistic in the telling of it. Schwab weaves a tale of intrigue, suspense, danger, and love which has the perfect amount of magic. 

I really loved going on this journey with Lexi. You actually felt like you were there with her trying to solve the mystery and of course since this book is called The Near Witch you know there is going to be some sort of mystical qualities added to the story, so that was super exciting. The town of Near has this small town feeling, how practically everyone knows each other and gets in everyone else's business. You will just have to wait and see how the story ends to find out what really is happening in the town of Near.

Another thing I really liked was the names of the characters, like Lexi, Cole and Wren, short but unique and also the characters themselves. Lexi is the type of girl that fights for what she believes in and she doesn't believe that girls should have to do just girl-like things. That girls should be able to hunt, track, wield knives and wear dirty boots if they want to. She isn't going to let anyone boss her around or keep her inside doing girl-like things. I really liked that quality about her. I loved all the witches in the town of Near both Good and Bad. I also appreciated the love that slowly grew throughout the whole book between Lexi and Cole and how they fought together to the end to find out the mystery of what was happening in Near. There love actually seemed real and wasn't insta-love like in some other books I have read. 

I have to say though I thought the ending was a little rushed and could have been drawn out a tiny bit more to be perfect. I feel like it could have been done more peacefully, beautifully, and magically and could have been written just a tiny bit better, instead of the quick way that it did end. All that said, I still really loved this book and the way that it ended. I wish that there could be a sequel added to this amazing book to be able to continue the story of Lexi. I was really invested in her and I really want to see what happens next with Lexi, Wren, Cole and the witches. =]

 Definitely read The Near Witch. It is a must read. I recommend it to everyone and it really is perfect for just about everyone. It is a mystical, amazingly written, magical story about a girl and what happens in her small town of Near. Go read it now. I am mad that I waited this long. =]

Overall, I give this book:
 A mystical, amazingly-written, magical story about a girl and what happens in her small town of Near =]
5 out of 5 Stars
Links to Check it Out:
Victoria Schwab's second book comes out January 22, 2013. That is LESS THAN SIX MONTHS AWAY. Really can not wait for it.=]

The Archived (The Archived, #1)
Check it out:

Thanks for Visiting and Happy Reading. =]

Thursday, July 26, 2012

Follow Friday(19)

FF 2012 Feature & Follow #80

Follow Friday is a weekly event hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read.

This week's Question is:
Q: Summer Reading. What was your favorite book that you were REQUIRED to read when you were in school?
Awesome Question this week. I am going to copy allison(hope that is okay) and go year by year. =]
9th Grade:
To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee
To Kill a Mockingbird
10th Grade:
Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
Fahrenheit 451
11th Grade:
Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
Of Mice and Men
12th Grade:
The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
The Kite Runner
Link me up to your Follow Friday's and I will be sure to follow you back.
Thanks for Visiting and Happy Friday =]

Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday: Dualed by Elsie Chapman

For those of you who don't know "Waiting On" Wednesday is an event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to let others know which book you are anticipating and can't wait til it comes out to read it.

Dualed (Dualed, #1)
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 2/26/2013
Pages: 304

Would you live through the ultimate test of survival?

The city of Kersh is a safe haven, but the price of safety is high. Everyone has a genetic Alternate—a twin raised by another family—and citizens must prove their worth by eliminating their Alts before their twentieth birthday. Survival means advanced schooling, a good job, marriage—life.

Fifteen-year-old West Grayer has trained as a fighter, preparing for the day when her assignment arrives and she will have one month to hunt down and kill her Alt. But then a tragic misstep shakes West’s confidence. Stricken with grief and guilt, she’s no longer certain that she’s the best version of herself, the version worthy of a future. If she is to have any chance of winning, she must stop running not only from her Alt, but also from love . . . though both have the power to destroy her.

Elsie Chapman’s suspenseful YA debut weaves unexpected romance into a novel full of fast-paced action and thought-provoking philosophy. When the story ends, discussions will begin about this future society where every adult is a murderer and every child knows there is another out there who just might be better.

Why I am Waiting?
WOW is all I can say guys. I was browsing through goodreads lists and this book just caught my eye. I am so glad I read the synopsis. The philosophy and action of this book sound so intriguing. A fight to the death against yourself. Where everyone is a murderer in society and everyone doesn't know if they are there best self. Just Aweosome. I really can't freaking wait. =]

Link me up in the comments to your WoW pick. =]

Thanks for visiting and Happy Reading.


Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Top Ten Tuesday- Vivid World/Amazing Settings

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish. They love to share lists.

Books with vivid worlds and settings are really the best books to read. So of course I read a lot of them. An awesome world or setting is really one of my requirements for a book to be awesome. =] Without further to do here is my list:

(Click the Links for Goodreads)

The Pures, the Dome, the people fused to objects, other people, animals and even the earth. Amazing vivid world.

 5 Factions that focus on different human qualities that eventually breaks out into chaos. I love the Chicago Roth has created.

People traveling on a spaceship of lies trying to reach a planet and a new life. Love the mystery and world Revis has created.

One of my most favorite fantasy worlds with Dragons, Dragon Riders, Elves, Dwarves and so much more. Sad has ended.

5) Hogwarts from the Harry Potter Books:
Of course, everyone should pick this one. Who wouldn't want to learn magic and go to school to perfect it. Amazing world and characters that I grew up with. =]

Martin's writing is vast, vivid and amazing in this series so far. Only on Book 3 but I know it will just keep getting better and better. Especially with how he integrates so many characters into a dramatic world.

7) New Beijing in Cinder by Marissa Meyer:
New Beijing is just spectacular with new technologies, robots, cyborgs, a prince and an evil lunar queen. Also you can't beat a fairytale retelling. Can't wait to see how Meyer's world expands when it goes to France in Scarlet. =]

 I want to know what my Daemon is just from reading this book with its vivid imaginary world. I really wanted this to continue on from just the 3 books.

Even though it is a horrible place to live, you actually think to yourself that it could happen in real life, that is what makes it so vivid and scary.

Who wouldn't want to be able to control the elements with your aura or be able to do spells or fight against evil or meet people from the past that are still living because they are immortal. Scott has created an amazing world and I don't want to see it end.  

Thanks for Visiting =]

Leave a link to your Top Ten in the comments and I will come check yours out.

Happy Reading


Sunday, July 22, 2012

6 Months til The Archived by Victoria Schwab hits the Shelves!!! Celebrate with a Giveaway from Victoria.

The awesome and talented Victoria Schwab is giving away 6 ARC's to 6 Lucky winners and I am blogging about it to help spread the word for the release of The Archived which comes out very soon, just 6 short months. =] 

The Archived (The Archived, #1)


Imagine a place where the dead rest on shelves like books.

Each body has a story to tell, a life seen in pictures that only Librarians can read. The dead are called Histories, and the vast realm in which they rest is the Archive.

Da first brought Mackenzie Bishop here four years ago, when she was twelve years old, frightened but determined to prove herself. Now Da is dead, and Mac has grown into what he once was, a ruthless Keeper, tasked with stopping often-violent Histories from waking up and getting out. Because of her job, she lies to the people she loves, and she knows fear for what it is: a useful tool for staying alive.

Being a Keeper isn't just dangerous—it's a constant reminder of those Mac has lost. Da's death was hard enough, but now her little brother is gone too. Mac starts to wonder about the boundary between living and dying, sleeping and waking. In the Archive, the dead must never be disturbed. And yet, someone is deliberately altering Histories, erasing essential chapters. Unless Mac can piece together what remains, the Archive itself might crumble and fall.

In this haunting, richly imagined novel, Victoria Schwab reveals the thin lines between past and present, love and pain, trust and deceit, unbearable loss and hard-won redemption

Victoria Talking about the Giveaway. =]

So excited for The Archived to come out. Can't wait.

Happy Reading. =]


Review: Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Insurgent (Divergent, #2)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 5/1/2012
Pages: 544

One choice can transform you--or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves--and herself--while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Tris's initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable--and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.

"New York Times" bestselling author Veronica Roth's much-anticipated second book of the dystopian "Divergent" series is another intoxicating thrill ride of a story, rich with hallmark twists, heartbreaks, romance, and powerful insights about human nature.

My Thoughts/Review:
All I can say right now is Damn that ending. I want to know more right now. I can't believe I have to wait for the next and final book to come out to find out what happens. I love this series so much. It has everything I love about books and awesome series. I really can't say anymore about how much I love this series.

Anyway, let's get back to the review, Insurgent starts off exactly where it left off in Divergent as things were crumbling around them as they were leaving the city on the train. I know some people didn't like this because you do forget what happened in the first book and Veronica Roth decided to do this creatively on purpose so there would be no lag time trying to explain again what had already occurred. So here is a link to a post Veronica did giving you a Guide to Remembering Divergent. =]  The adventure continues right away and you go on such an emotional, physical, thought provoking ride with Tris. This book definitely didn't disappoint. You really feel for Tris and everything she has to go through. You get to see how Tobias and Tris's love gets tested and goes deeper than it was before.

I really loved the raw emotion that this book posed from Tris's point of view. You got to delve more deeper into her character and find out more about who she is. You get to experience through Tris all of the raw emotion she was feeling from guilt, to sacrifice, to forgiveness, to frustration, to determination and of course love.  The story definitely gets more action packed as Insurgent gets to its climax which is at the very last page. You think you have hit the climax but just wait and see because you haven't. I really wasn't expecting this story to go in this direction. There is no way anyone could really expect that. It is completely different from any where from when the series started. The story goes in a predictable direction but ends shockingly. You get to see more of the factions and learn so much more about them, which I really loved. The journey basically takes you to the different factions you haven't seen already.

(*next few sentences have tiny spoilers*)

First the story takes you to Amity and you learn about why they are so peaceful and what they contribute to society. Then it takes you to Candor where you get to see how the truth serum works and what there faction really values. I really like how at the end of the truth serum the Candor would say "Thank you for your honesty", for some reason it gave me chills. Then of course you get to see Erudite headquarters because if you read the first book you should know that is where the story is heading towards. I really liked the Erudite technology used in the book and how they always try to think logically but that logic isn't always the right way of doing things in other people's perspectives.

(*end of tiny spoilers*)

Veronica Roth's writing is even more spectacular in this book then the first. She weaves a story that goes from one event to the next that keeps you wanting more. And the whole time you really don't know which direction this story will turn. A lot of stuff happens in this book, which I don't want to giveaway too many spoilers, lets just say conflict does happen between the factions and it ends with even more chaos. There are a lot of shocking moments throughout this book that kept keeping me on my toes and the end shocker is definitely a big one. Really can not wait for the final book in the series. This series will be one of my favorites of all time. If you haven't read this series, what the heck are you waiting for. It is so awesome, you can not wait. Go pick it up now and read it. =]

Overall, I give this book:

Shocking Sequel to an action-packed emotional thought-provoking series. =]
5 out of 5 Stars
Links to Check it Out:

Thanks for Visiting and Happy Reading. =]

Friday, July 20, 2012

Follow Friday(18)

FF 2012 Feature & Follow #80

Follow Friday is a weekly event hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read.

This week's Question is:
Q: Christmas in July! Someone gives you a gift card for two books (whatever that costs). What two books will you buy?
If you have been following my blog lately or on twitter you should already know my answer to this question. I have been entering a ton of giveaways for these two books just to try and win them so I can read them. I featured both of their book trailers on my blog yesterday. If someone gave me a giftcard I would buy these two books in an instant.
They are *drum roll please* :
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 7/10/2012
Pages: 480
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books For Young Readers
Publication date: 7/10/2012
Pages: 384
The Forsaken (The Forsaken, #1)
Let me know which two books you would buy in the comments.
If you follow me, let me know, and I will follow you back. =]

CAPTCHA: If you have CAPTCHA word verification enabled on your blog, please take it off. It makes it much more difficult for readers to comment. Please look at Alison's CAPTCHA Eradication Post to learn how to get rid of it.
Happy Follow Friday.
Happy Reading.

Thursday, July 19, 2012

Book Trailer Thursday--The Forsaken by Lisa M. Stasse and Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

Hi Guys,

Here are two awesome book trailers. I am highly anticipating theses two books. I really can not wait to buy them and read them. They both sound so amazing and exciting. If you follow me on Twitter you know I am entering practically ever contest to try and win both of these awesome reads. Okay, enough talking, lets get to the trailers:

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books For Young Readers
Publication date: 7/10/2012
Pages: 384
The Forsaken (The Forsaken, #1)

Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 7/10/2012
Pages: 480


Hope you enjoyed these book trailers and if you haven't added the to your Goodreads yet, you now have. =]

Happy Reading.

Thanks for Visiting. =]


Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday: Sequel Edition--10 Covers Revealed

For those of you who don't know "Waiting On" Wednesday is an event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to let others know which book you are anticipating and can't wait til it comes out to read it.

Hi Guys,

I have been noticing that a ton of sequels are coming out soon or next year and I am in awe at all the awesome covers so today I am going to show you what I found so you can get excited with me. I am counting this as my Waiting on Wednesday post because I am waiting for all these awesome books to come out. =]
(Clicking on the Pictures will take you to Goodreads to add them to your Shelf)
Days of Blood and Starlight (Daughter of Smoke and Bone, #2)
In this stunning sequel to the highly acclaimed "Daughter of Smoke and Bone," Karou must come to terms with who and what she is, and how far she'll go to avenge her people. Filled with heartbreak and beauty, mysteries and secrets, new characters and old favorites, Days of Blood and Starlight brings the richness, color and intensity of the first book to a brand new canvas.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone was declared a "must read" by Entertainment Weekly, was named a Best Book of the Year by Amazon.com, and The New York Times called it "a breath-catching romantic fantasy."

Fuse (Pure, #2)
Book Two of the "Pure" Trilogy
When the world ended, those who dwelled within the Dome were safe. Inside their glass world the Pures live on unscarred, while those outside--the Wretches-- struggle to survive amidst the smoke and ash.
Believing his mother was living among the Wretches, Partridge escaped from the Dome to find her. Determined to regain control over his son, Willux, the leader of the Pures, unleashes a violent new attack on the Wretches. It's up to Pressia Belze, a young woman with her own mysterious past, to decode a set of cryptic clues from the past to set the Wretches free.
An epic quest that sweeps readers into a world of beautiful brutality, "Fuse" continues the story of two people fighting to save their futures--and change the fate of the world.

Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles, #2)
This book will feature Cinder and Little Red Riding Hood and will take place in France.

Cinder returns in the second thrilling installment of the New York Times-bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother and the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she has no choice but to trust him, though he clearly has a few dark secrets of his own.

As Scarlet and Wolf work to unravel one mystery, they find another when they cross paths with Cinder. Together, they must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen who will do anything to make Prince Kai her husband, her king, her prisoner.

Feedback (Variant, #2)
Benson Fisher escaped from Maxfield Academy’s deadly rules and brutal gangs.

Or so he thought.

But now Benson is trapped in a different kind of prison: a town filled with hauntingly familiar faces. People from Maxfield he saw die. Friends he was afraid he had killed.

They are all pawns in the school’s twisted experiment, held captive and controlled by an unseen force. As he searches for answers, Benson discovers that Maxfield Academy’s plans are more sinister than anything he imagined—and they may be impossible to stop.

Variant blew readers away with its breakneck pacing, flawless plotting, and impossibly high stakes. It earned starred reviews from both Publishers Weekly and VOYA, which described it as “an exciting, edge-of-your-seat read that combines psychological themes from works like Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games, and Ender’s Game in a truly unique way.”

In Feedback, Robison Wells delivers all the answers you’ve been craving—with enough twists and turns to keep readers guessing until the very last page.
Outpost (Razorland, #2)

Deuce’s whole world has changed. Down below, she was considered an adult. Now, topside in a town called Salvation, she’s a brat in need of training in the eyes of the townsfolk. She doesn’t fit in with the other girls: Deuce only knows how to fight.
To make matters worse, her Hunter partner, Fade, keeps Deuce at a distance. Her feelings for Fade haven’t changed, but he seems not to want her around anymore. Confused and lonely, she starts looking for a way out.
Deuce signs up to serve in the summer patrols—those who make sure the planters can work the fields without danger. It should be routine, but things have been changing on the surface, just as they did below ground. The Freaks have grown smarter. They’re watching. Waiting. Planning. The monsters don’t intend to let Salvation survive, and it may take a girl like Deuce to turn back the tide.

Prodigy (Legend, #2)
Jan. 4. 1932 Hours.

Ocean Standard Time

Thirty-Five Days After Metias’s Death

June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request—June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.

It’s their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long.

But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she’s haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengence, anger and blood—what if the Patriots are wrong?

 Vortex (Tempest, #2)

Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky, #2)

Unravel Me (Shatter Me, #2)

Breaking Point (Article 5, #2)
Hope you all go add these awesome sequels to your goodreads. =]

What are you waiting for this Wednesday? Let me know in the comments.

Thanks for Visiting
Happy Reading


Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Epic Reads Ebook Deals- $2.99

Hi Everyone,

There are some awesome Epic Reads Ebook deals for $2.99 going on right now.

Go snatch them up because it ends 7/30.

Check them out below. =]



A Beautiful Dark

The Girl of Fire and Thorns


Angelfire (Angelfire Series #1)

The Secret Sisterhood of Heartbreakers


Paranormalcy (Paranormalcy Series #1)

Bright Young Things (Bright Young Things Series #1)

Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn't Have)

Hope you guys don't go broke from buying all these Ebooks. Snatch them up while you still can.

Have an Awesome day. =]

Thanks for visiting


Happy Reading