Friday, January 27, 2012

And The Winner is...

The Winner of the Hardback Copy of Wither is...


She was emailed and contacted and replied back to me.

Thanks to everyone that entered and did all of the extra entries.

Happy Reading.


Thursday, January 26, 2012

Interview with author Joel M Andre

Before we get started with the interview here is a little bit about the author, Joel M. Andre. =]
Author Bio:

Joel M. Andre was born January 13, 1981. At a young age he was fascinated with the written word. It was at fourteen that Poe blew his mind, and Andre began to dabble with darker poetry.Between the years of 1999 and 2007 Joel was featured in various poetry anthologies and publications. In 2008 he released his first collection,Pray the Rain Never Ends.
Knowing there was something deeper and darker inside of his soul, Joel decided to take a stab at commercialism. Releasing the dark tongue in cheek, A Death at the North Pole, created a dark world among the death of Kris Kringle. Ultimately providing a tale of redemption.

October of 2008 saw Joel release his second book, Kill 4 Me. A tale in which a woman is haunted by a vengeful spirit through text messages and instant messaging.

Taking some time off and doing a lot of soul searching, Joel took things in a new direction and dabbled in the Fantasy Genre with, The Pentacle of Light. The tale dealing with five major races battling for control of Earth, and the acceptance of their God.

Finally, after missing his detective Lauren Bruni, he released the book The Return in October 2009, this time moving the action from the North Pole and placing it in the small Arizona community he was raised in.
Andre’s latest book is The Black Chronicles: Cry of the Fallen about a dead man who seeks revenge on the woman that tormented him in peaceful Northern Arizona.

Currently, he resides in Chandler, AZ.
You can visit his website at

Inteview with author Joel M. Andre

1. What made you decide to be a writer and what was the inspiration for your books? I decided to become a writer as a child. I have always loved writing and felt that it was a great way for me to explore the worlds created in my mind. As far as inspiration from my books, I think I have pulled it from experiences in my life and just thoughts that seemed to come to me from nowhere. 

2. What made you decide to write crime and horror fiction? My father always loved horror when I was growing up, so that is where that passion came from. In terms of crime fiction, you can’t have a serial killer without a detective chasing them, so they went hand in hand. 


3. What is your favorite book/favorite genre to read? I love to read horror, but I will never say no to a good murder mystery. I don’t have a book that stands out as a clear favorite, although I am very particular to The Stand, The Witching Hour and The Complete Works of Poe. 

4. What would you say to potential readers to get them to try and read your books? How do you market your books to readers? If someone tells me they are interested in one of my stories, I usually give them a free copy. To me, it is more important to get people to read, rather than to worry about how much money you are going to make. 

5. If a reader doesn’t like reading about dark horror fiction, what is the one thing you would say to get them to change their minds? I would say, don’t sweat it. The beauty of the literary world is that there are titles out there that anyone can enjoy. Some people love horror, while others love romance. Someone’s taste is part of who they are and one should never try to swag someone’s preferences in order to try and get them to enjoy something they just don’t. 

Here are some fun This or That questions (Which do you prefer?):

1. Cats or Dogs. The clear choice would be dogs. 
2. Ghosts or Demons. In terms of fiction, demons. In real life, I would go with ghosts.

3. Hero or Heroine. I prefer a heroine for a main character. 
4. Hamburger or Hotdog. Hamburgers hands down. 

Thank you Joel and Partners in Crime Tours for the awesome interview. I suggest to all of my readers to go check out all of Joel's Dark Horror Fiction books. The one that I read was really good. HERE is a link to the my review of The Black Chronicles: Cry of the Fallen.
Thanks for Visiting and Happy Reading.


Tuesday, January 24, 2012

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Fictional Characters.

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish. They  love to share lists.

Since it is a freebie week I thought I would share with you who my top ten characters that I loved the best from some of my favorite books.

1) Harry Potter- Of course you have to say him. He practically started the love of reading for me. With this one I am also going to say Hermione Granger. I am bookish and clever just like she is and I love that she is a know it all and I feel like if I went to Hogwarts I would want to learn as much magic as possible just like she does.

2)Katniss Everdeen- The Hunger Games Movie is coming out soon and I can not wait to see how it turns out. Katniss is really kickass but really genuine at the same time. I really loved this series and how Katniss played out everything and how it turned out in the end.

3)Cinder- Also pretty kickass in this awesome series. I really loved Cinder's uniqueness and her way of going about things. I really can't wait to see how this series turns out.

4) Eragon- One of my all time favorite characters from a fantasy novel. He really shows and eagerness for magic and an excitement in his quest and his duties. I have really loved The Inheritance Cycle so far and can't wait to find out what happens in the final book.

5)Percy Jackson- It would be so cool to find out that one of your parents was a god or goddess. I have been really into mythology and Percy was just a character that helped me see it in a whole new light.

6)Number Four, Number Six, Number Seven and Sam Goode, almost all of the charachters in the Lorien Legacies series. They are all kickass and have such amazing powers and abilities and I really can not wait to see what happens to them all.

7) All of the characters in the Song of Fire and Ice Series. In a Game of Thrones all of these charachters that George R.R. Martin has come up with have there own agenda in mind and are all crafty and you never know what will happen with them. I love them all and a can't wait to pick up the next books in this series.

8)Amy and Elder, Trapped on a ship headed to a new planet, these two characters need to find out the secrets. It is such a great sci-fi mystery with great characters playing the leads. I can't wait to read A Million Suns and then Shades of Earth after that. =]

9)Sophie and Josh Newman, These twins are so relatable to me because I am one myself. They have such awesome powers and have a fate that can either save the world or destroy it. Really can't wait to see what happens. =]

10)Tris and Four, Saved the best for last. The world is so unique with different factions and the characters themselves go to a depth that really makes you look inside yourself to see what kind of person you are yourself. Awesome series and I really can not wait to read Insurgent. =]

Let me know what you did for your freebie week. Link me up in the comments. =]

Thanks for visiting and Happy Reading. =]


Sunday, January 22, 2012

0.99 cent ebook

There have been some great 0.99 cent ebooks lately. So I thought I would share with another one.
It is a preorder but still worth the buy. I have been interested in Alex Flinn's books and I so can't wait to read this one.
Cloaked with Bonus Materials

Thanks for Visiting and Happy Reading.

-Michael =]

Friday, January 20, 2012

Follow Friday(8)

  FF 2012 Feature & Follow #80
Follow Friday is a weekly event hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read.
This week's Question is:
What’s the craziest thing you’ve ever done to get your hands on any particular book?
I am so boring. I haven't really done anything crazy to get my hands on a book. I normally either preorder or order my books through the internet, especially the ebooks I buy, and get them shipped to my house. Nothing really crazy. I mean I would love to go around doing crazy things to get books that I want to read before they come out. But, I guess I am just not that person. lol. One thing I can think of is I did order a signed copy of a book(paperback of Across the Universe) through Beth Revis local bookstore, that was something cool. I know I am lame.
Let me know what crazy things you have done and leave me a link in the comments. =]
Across the Universe (Across the Universe Series #1)
Thanks for Visiting and Happy Reading.

Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Just Say No To Censorship-Sign the Petition

Go to the LINK to sign the Google Petition

Go to to send a letter to Congress.

It is important for bloggers to do this. We don't need people censoring the internet.


Tuesday, January 17, 2012

Top Ten Books I'd Recommend To Someone Who Doesn't Read YA/Dystopian

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish. They  love to share lists.

Click the Links to Add to your Goodreads. =]

1)  by Veronica Roth
This one is so awesome. It literally blew my mind in 2011. Can't wait for Insurgent to come out. Can't wait to find out what happens. This book has everything I would want in a book and more.

2) by Beth Revis
This book grabs you from the first chapter. It is so unique and Revis has such awesome writing skills. Also can't wait and find out what happens. A Millions Suns just came out last week. =]

3) by Marissa Meyer
Another great interesting read which is totally unique. I love the direction of how the chronicles are going. You need to read this one. It just came out Jan. 3rd. Also will blow your mind from uniqueness plus its a fairytale retelling. Sort of.

4) by Pittacus Lore
Aliens with awsome spectacular powers fighting other evil aliens, you wouldn't love that. Definitely my kind of book. Can't wait for the next installment.

5) by Julianna Baggott
I got this through NetGalley and I am reading it now. Such a greatly crafted dystopian. Everyone should read it and I think will like it. So unique.

6)The Giver by Lois Lowry
So glad I read this classic. Didn't think I would like it because of the creepy old man on the cover. Boy was I wrong. It is dystopian and so good and once again so unique. Definitely read this one if you haven't.

7)Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
Loved this creepy weird series. So glad a book number is coming out. I really want to find out what happens. =] Don't let the creepyness factor throw you off, you need to read this one. =]

8) by Julie Cross
Her book comes out tomorrow, so excited for her. You guys definitely have to go out and check out her amazing book. Time Travel is awesome. Can't wait for the rest of the series.

9) by Cinda Williams Chima
Really can't wait to read the rest of this series and Chima's other books. Really loved the premise and the magic of this book. Definitely read it if you haven't. =]

10) by Rick Riordan
I love anything to do with mythology and I am so happy the movie came out. If it didn't I don't know if I would have stumbled on to this awesome series. Mythology is awesome. Definitely read it if you haven't.

11)  by Suzanne Collins
Everyone should read this book. The movie is coming out soon and the premise of this series is so unique and awesome. You have to read this series. I won't take no for an answer.

Once again I added an eleventh to my list. Aww well more books for you guys to look into. Link me up to your lists in the comments.

Thanks for visiting and Happy Reading. =]


Monday, January 16, 2012

Happy Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Happy Martin Luther King Jr. Day Everyone

"I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character."

"Free at last! Free at last!
                Thank God Almighty, we are free at last!"

Hope you all have a great day.

Don't forget to enter my Giveaway of Wither HERE

Thanks for Visiting an Happy Reading.



Saturday, January 14, 2012

Giveaway: Wither by Lauren DeStefano

Wither (Chemical Garden Series #1)

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books For Young Readers
  • Publication date: 3/22/2011
  • Pages: 368

  • By age sixteen, Rhine Ellery has four years left to live. A botched effort to create a perfect race has left all males born with a lifespan of 25 years, and females a lifespan of 20 years--leaving the world in a state of panic. Geneticists seek a miracle antidote to restore the human race, desperate orphans crowd the population, crime and poverty have skyrocketed, and young girls are being kidnapped and sold as polygamous brides to bear more children.
    When Rhine is sold as a bride, she vows to do all she can to escape. Yet her husband, Linden, is hopelessly in love with her, and Rhine can’t bring herself to hate him as much as she’d like to. He opens her to a magical world of wealth and illusion she never thought existed, and it almost makes it possible to ignore the clock ticking away her short life. But Rhine quickly learns that not everything in her new husband’s strange world is what it seems. Her father-in-law, an eccentric doctor bent on finding the antidote, is hoarding corpses in the basement; her fellow sister wives are to be trusted one day and feared the next; and Rhine has no way to communicate to her twin brother that she is safe and alive.
    Together with one of Linden's servants, Gabriel, Rhine attempts to escape just before her seventeenth birthday. But in a world that continues to spiral into anarchy, is there any hope for freedom?

    I am giving away a Hardback Copy of Wither by Lauren DeStefano. Enter using the Rafflecopter Form below.

    Giveaway Info and Rules:
    Must be 13 years or older.
    ***You don't have to be a follower, but following and doing the extra entries is always appreciated. =]
    ***US Only Giveaway
    Ends on 1/24/12 at Midnight.
    Winner has 48 hours to respond to prize notification email. If winner fails to respond, a new winner will be selected.
    Winner will be selected by
    ONE entry per person. If you enter it a second time by accident that is understandable. But if there are more entries then you will be disqualified.
    I am not responsible for loss or damage of prize while in transit.
    Good Luck!!!

    Friday, January 13, 2012

    Review #36: The Strain by Guillermo Del Toro and Chuck Hogan

    The Strain (The Strain Trilogy, #1)

  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication date: 6/2/2009
  • Pages: 416

  • Synopsis
    The visionary creator of the Academy Award-winning Pan's Labyrinth and a Hammett Award-winning author bring their imaginations to this bold, epic novel about a horrifying battle between man and vampire that threatens all humanity. It is the first installment in a thrilling trilogy and an extraordinary international publishing event.

    The Strain They have always been here. Vampires. In secret and in darkness. Waiting. Now their time has come. In one week, Manhattan will be gone. In one month, the country. In two months—the world.

    A Boeing 777 arrives at JFK and is on its way across the tarmac, when it suddenly stops dead. All window shades are pulled down. All lights are out. All communication channels have gone quiet. Crews on the ground are lost for answers, but an alert goes out to the CDC. Dr. Eph Goodweather, head of their Canary project, a rapid-response team that investigates biological threats, gets the call and boards the plane. What he finds makes his blood run cold.

    In a pawnshop in Spanish Harlem, a former professor and survivor of the Holocaust named Abraham Setrakian knows something is happening. And he knows the time has come, that a war is brewing . . .

    So begins a battle of mammoth proportions as the vampiric virus that has infected New York begins to spill out into the streets. Eph, who is joined by Setrakian and a motley crew of fighters, must now find a way to stop the contagion and save his city—a city that includes his wife and son—before it is too late.

    My Thoughts/Review
    I really liked this book but I don't think it lived up to the hype and what I thought it would be like. I loved the premise with The Strain and the vampire aspect. I just didn't like the writing of it and it might have to do that I really didn't like the person that did the audiobook. The book flip flops between many different characters and some of the times it would come back to a character and I would completely forget who they were or it was a new character with really no introduction to who they were. Sometimes I would have to remind myself who the characters were. There was way to many characters in this book, especially background characters, that in my opinion didn't really have to do with the book. The background characters did give the book some depth but some of them were really unneeded. 

    What I will say is that it was written like it was a movie and that part I did like. It would make a great movie Guillermo del Toro is a famous director and you can tell both the authors wrote this more like a movie then a book. The opening of the story really intrigued me with the airplane landing and then completely shutting down and no one responding from inside. That is a really unique way to start a book. The main characters were okay but none of them were really relatable to me. They mostly seemed pretty flat in my opinion. Goodweather and Satrakin were interesting, I just think for being main characters they could have been more developed and showed a little depth. I liked them both and how they reacted to the vampires I just wish they were more relatable to me.

     The way that the authors made their version of a vampire was very interesting and unique, I liked that part too. I mean these are definitely not your ordinary vampire, they are a whole new breed. Another thing I did really like was the scare factor this book had especially when I would listen to the audiobook. A couple times when I was listening to it at night I got a little creeped out and scared. That is definitely a plus and one aspect to read this book for. I really loved all those creepy parts. The ending was okay. I thought most of the book was pretty predictable. I really do wish the ending was done more in an excitable way instead of just going to the bad guy and trying to kill him. The end didn't really leave on that much of a cliffhanger or me wanting more, except maybe for the reader just needing to see what happens with the fight against the vampires and where the characters go from here, but that is all. I really do not know if I want to read the next two books in this series. I will probably read book two but I might need some convincing. Anyone want to convince me who has read this book or series? =]


    Overall I give this book...
     Very Scary, Unique Book. =]
    3 out of 5 Stars

    Links to Check it Out:

    Thanks for Visiting and Happy Reading


    Thursday, January 12, 2012

    The Pineville Heist by Lee Chambers FREE ebook-For a Limited Time

    Lee Chambers is offering for FREE his exciting thrilling suspenseful ebook about a bank robbery gone wrong. This book is going to be made into a movie so you know it is a great book.

    Check out my review HERE

    Search for the Pineville Heist on and get the eBook for free using code VJ98N at the Check Out!

    Thanks for Visiting and Happy Reading.


    More 0.99 cents Ebooks

    Hi Everyone,

    Once again I just wanted to share with you guys some more 0.99 cent ebooks that are on sale.

    Bumped by Megan McCafferty 

    Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn't Have) by Sarah Mlynowski
    Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn't Have)

    Vesper by Jeff Sampson

    Entwined by Heather Dixon

    Thanks for visiting and Happy Reading. =]


    Tuesday, January 10, 2012

    Top Ten Authors I Wish Would Write Another Book

    Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish. They  love to share lists.

    1) Dan Brown - All of his books in my opinion are just awesome and it has been forever since his last book. They are so thrilling and adventurous. I just love them and hope he comes out with another one soon. =]

    2) Christopher Paolini- He just came out with the last book in his series. I can not wait to see what else he does and where his writing will go. I really want to see more from him.

    3) Cornelia Funke- I loved her Inkheart series and I really hope she writes plenty more.

    4) JK Rowling- Of course I want more from the author of Harry Potter. So hope she writes alot more.

    5) Philip Pullman- His Dark Materials series was so awesome. I really hope he writes more. =]

    6) Stephanie Meyer- This is only for the Host Series. I really want the sequel to come out but not sure when that is going to happen.

    7) Marissa Meyer-Cinder was completely awesome, she is an awesome writer and I know she will write more and can't wait for it. =]

    8) Julie Cross-Tempest is another awesome book of 2012. Can't wait for the sequel and more books from her.

    9) Beth Revis-One of my all time favorite authors and I hope she writes forever.

    10)Veronica Roth- Ditto with my above statement. I want tons more from Veronica

    Added an Eleventh cause just thought of another one off the top of my head.

    11) Suzanne Collins-She hasn't done anything after The Hunger Games and I want her to writer more brillant books. Really hope she does.

    Definitely let me know in the comments authors you want to see create and write more books. Link me up in the comments. =] 

    Thanks for visiting and Happy Reading. =]


    Monday, January 9, 2012

    0.99 Cent Ebooks.

    Just wanted to share with you guys some 0.99 cent ebooks that I found. Steal these up fast because I don't know how long they will be 0.99 cents. =]

    Unearthly by Cynthia Hand
    Unearthly (Unearthly Series #1)

    Hereafter by Tara Hudson

    Destined by Jessie Harrell

    Daimon by Jennifer L. Armentrout
    Daimon: A Prequel to Half-Blood

    The Unidentified by Rae Mariz
    The Unidentified

    These are all the .99 cent ebooks I found and bought this week. Hope you guys can steal these up for yourselves too. =]

    Happy Reading =]


    Friday, January 6, 2012

    Follow Friday(7)

    Follow Friday is a weekly event hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read.
    This week's Question is:
    Go count the number of unread books sitting on your shelf. How many?
    Drum Roll Please...
    I have 95 books on my shelf unread. I can not believe I have that many. This doesn't even count the many many books I have on my NookColor. I need to really work on getting my unread pile down. That is it this is proof that I am a book horder. =]
    Link me up to your Follow Friday and I will follow you and let me know how much unread books you have on your shelf. =]

    Thursday, January 5, 2012

    Review #35: The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore

    The Power of Six (Lorien Legacies, #2)

  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication date: 8/23/2011
  • Pages: 416

  • Synopsis
    I've seen him on the news. Followed the stories about what happened in Ohio. John Smith, out there, on the run. To the world, he's a mystery. But to me . . . he's one of us.

    Nine of us came here, but sometimes I wonder if time has changed us—if we all still believe in our mission. How can I know? There are six of us left. We're hiding, blending in, avoiding contact with one another . . . but our Legacies are developing, and soon we'll be equipped to fight. Is John Number Four, and is his appearance the sign I've been waiting for? And what about Number Five and Six? Could one of them be the raven-haired girl with the stormy eyes from my dreams? The girl with powers that are beyond anything I could ever imagine? The girl who may be strong enough to bring the six of us together?

    They caught Number One in Malaysia.
    Number Two in England.
    And Number Three in Kenya.
    They tried to catch Number Four in Ohio—and failed.

    I am Number Seven. One of six still alive.

    My Thoughts/Review
    Ughh I wanted this book to last longer. I read it so fast. It was so good. The Power of Six was action-packed and thrilling. There was so much fighting scenes especially at the end that I was definitely excited for and was looking forward too. Hopefully there are some more in the next book. There were twists and turns around every corner that I wasn't expecting. I really loved the story of this one and how John, Six and Sam are all on the road running from the Mogadorians. What is unique about this sequel is that it starts off with meeting Number 7, a whole new character we have never meet before. It switches back and forth between Number 7 and John, Six and Sam. I loved the dynamic that the switching back and forth played out and how eventually they sort of end up together at the end. You just have to read it to find out exactly what happens.

    I loved meeting Number 7 aka Marina and getting to know all about her and her life in the small village she and her cepan are hiding in. I loved the way she held herself and I related to her alot. She wants to come out of hiding and begin her training but her cepan has other ideas. I really liked the introduction of a bunch of new powers relating to Marina and how some of them grew over time. I am really interested to learn more about all of their chests and all the things and their inheritance that are inside them. I can't wait til all of the Garde come together and I get to know all of them. You also kind of briefly get to meet Number 9 in this one. Now all we have to do is find out about Number 5 and Number 8. I really hope we get to meet them in the next book.

    The Power of Six had so many twists and turns and really took me on an adventure. There was some plot twists that I was so excited to learn about. This installment definitely has alot of surprises and new and interesting elements that make the story even better. I just love the direction this story is going in. I hope all of the Garde eventually come together and they defeat the Mongadorians and everything ends up happy but only time will tell in the next books of the series. I just really love this series, can't you tell. =]
     I really can not wait until the third book comes out which is called The Rise of Nine. Add it to your Goodreads Here if you want to. I wish it was out right now so I could read it. I really wanted to make this book last but I really couldn't because it was that good. If you haven't started reading this series yet you definitely should. I mean aliens with superhero type powers fighting other evil aliens I mean who wouldn't like a book about that.

    Overall I give this book...
     Action Packed, Thrilling and Shockingly Good. =]
    5 out of 5 Stars

    Links to Check it Out:

    Thanks for Visiting and Happy Reading


    Wednesday, January 4, 2012

    Waiting on Wednesday: A Million Suns by Beth Revis

    For those of you who don't know "Waiting On" Wednesday is an event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to let others know which book you are anticipating and can't wait til it comes out to read it.

    A Million Suns (Across the Universe, #2)

  • Pub. Date: January 10, 2012

  • Publisher: Razorbill

  • Format: Hardcover , 400pp

  • Godspeed was fueled by lies. Now it is ruled by chaos.  
    It's been three months since Amy was unplugged. The life she always knew is over. And everywhere she looks, she sees the walls of the spaceship Godspeed. But there may just be hope: Elder has assumed leadership of the ship. He's finally free to enact his vision - no more Phydus, no more lies.
    But when Elder discovers shocking news about the ship, he and Amy race to discover the truth behind life on Godspeed. They must work together to unlock a puzzle that was set in motion hundreds of years earlier, unable to fight the romance that's growing between them and the chaos that threatens to tear them apart.
    In book two of the Across the Universe trilogy, New York Times bestselling author Beth Revis mesmerizes us again with a brilliantly crafted mystery filled with action, suspense, romance, and deep philosophical questions. And this time it all builds to one mind-bending conclusion: They have to get off this ship.

    Why I am Waiting:
    Okay this book comes out in like 5 or 6 days. I am so excited. I want to find out what happens to Elder and Amy. Beth Revis is so awesome and such a good writer. I really really can not wait for this one.
    Let me know in the comments and link me up to what you are waiting for this week.

    Also this week I want to do a little Blogger Spotlight.
    My friend Amy has a blog that inspired my blog and I would have never started blogging if not because of her. She reads a ton of books and reviews all of them. She has such great reviews and awesome insights on the material and characters she reads about. I love reading her reviews. So please go check out her blog called The Bookmark.
    If you like it friend her through GFC and keep visiting. Amy and her reviews are both awesome.

    Thanks for visiting and Happy Reading. =]


    Tuesday, January 3, 2012

    Cinder Release Day.

    A few books got released today. But I want to talk about one in particular. Cinder by Marissa Meyer was released today. I got to read this book through NetGalley and Macmillan Audio gave a copy of the Audiobook. I really loved this book that I even ordered a physical copy. I can't wait to get it in the mail.

    Here is my Review of the Amazing Cinder by Marissa Meyer. Definitely go check it out and if it peaks your
    interest go buy it. =]

    Cinder (Lunar Chronicles, #1)

  • Publisher: Feiwel & Friends An Imprint of Macmillan
  • Publication date: 1/3/2012
  • Pages: 400

  • Disclaimer: I receive an ebook copy through NetGalley from Macmillan for an honest and fair review. =]
    I also received an Audiobook copy of Cinder through the awesome people at Macmillan Audio for a fair and honest review. =]

    Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .

    Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

    My Thoughts/Review:
    There are so many awesome books that are coming out in 2012 and this is definitely one of them. I can not tell you how fantastic this book was. At first when I read the synopsis I didn't get it and wasn't sure if I would like it. Well I was dead wrong and DO NOT let it stop you from reading it. This is a sort of retelling of Cinderella told in a uniquely awesome way. Marissa Meyer is an amazing writer and is completely imaginative. I mean her book is filled to the brim with imagination. Cyborgs, Androids, A Plague, Lunar Moon People, a future world filled with new technology, etc... What more could you ask for in a book. This is a novel you can really get yourself invested in. Cinder is a series and I think there are supposed to be three more books in the series and I can't wait for them.   

    From the first words I listened to and read I just knew Cinder would be a fantastic book. It opens in such a unique way and if you have read the book you know what I am talking about. If you choose to listen to the clip below it is in the clip. The audio book was truly amazing. I really loved listening to it. The narrator was really talented. She had such a wide range of voices that she used throughout the book for all the different characters. I listened to the audio book everywhere on my MP3 player, on my breaks and lunches at work and even before going to bed. The novel is broken into 4 sections and at the beginning of each section there is a quote from the original Cinderella and I thought that was just genius. I am completely a fan of quotes and these just added to the book even more. This book was so addicting and fantastic I had to listen/read it whenever I could.

    Here is a Clip of the awesome Cinder Audiobook:
    Cinder webclip by TheBookshelfRev

    Cinder was such an amazing character. I really related to Cinder. Everyone that reads this should be able to relate to Cinder. Everyone at some point in their life has felt like they were an outcast or different from everyone else. Cinder feels like this everyday because she is a Cyborg. I really loved her personality and her strength. All of the characters in this book had many different dynamics that made you like all of them and hate some of them at the same time. I could understand why Adri and Pearl got mad at Cinder but I didn't like the way they treated her and hated them both the same. Two of my other favorite characters were Iko and Peony. Iko is Cinders friend and an Android who has such a great personality that made her come to life off the pages. Peony is one of Cinders stepsisters and the only person that is truly nice to Cinder. I really liked her for her kindness and simple innocence of the world. Another thing I loved was the world and Eastern Commonwealth the book was set in. It is kind of dystopian like in where this world could happen in the distant future. I would never have thought up this brillant future and way this earth turned out but that is why Marissa Meyer is such an imaginative writer

    This book was really my kind of book. I love Sci-fi and Dystopian type books and if you like these genres then this is definitely a book for you too. I guessed the big plot twist that happens at the end but that didn't take away from the book at all. I definitely suggest that everyone get there hands on a copy of this in 2012 and read it. Since I got Cinder from NetGalley I don't have a physical copy of it and since it was so good I think I will have to go out and buy one. Cinder is definitely a book that deserves a place on my bookshelf. One of the most unique books I have ever read. Meyer has a great future and career in writing ahead of her as long as she continues to write amazing books. It definitely is a great thing that this is only book one of a series that I know will be fantastic I can not wait to read the sequel of The Lunar Chronicles. I don't want to wait all this time til 2013 for the next one. You need to pick up this book and read it. It was purely awesome and amazing in every way.

    Overall I give this book...
    So Creative and Original, you have to buy this book. =]
    5 out of 5 Stars

    Links to Check Out/Preorder:
    Barnes and Noble
    Marissa Meyer Website
    Marissa Meyer Facebook
    The Lunar Chronicles Facebook

    Thanks for Visiting and Happy Reading



    Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I am Excited to Read in 2012

    Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish. They  love to share lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see others top ten lists.

    I am so excited for just about a million books to come out in 2012. I can really tell that this year is going to be an awesome year for awesome books. If you have to ask me why I am excited to read these top ten books then you are missing out on some great series and books. =]

    2) by Veronica Roth
    4) by Pittacus Lore
    5)Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi
    6) by Justin Cronin
    7) by Stephanie Meyer
    8) by Brodi Ashton
    9) by Julianna Baggott
    10) by Megan Crewe

    I am extending my list. These next two are ones that I have already read and were fantastic reads already from 2012. =]
    11) by Julie Cross (Review)
    12) by Marissa Meyer (Review)

    Definitely let me know in the comments what you are excited for in 2012. I want to know and find what is the next great book that is coming out so I can read it.

    Thanks for visiting and Happy Reading. =]