Monday, October 31, 2011

Happy Halloween!!!

Happy Halloween!!!

I hope today is filled with lots of candy for all of you and you get lots of trick or treaters with awesome costumes. =]

Also for a special Halloween treat for today only, for anyone that has entered or will enter my giveaway today. If you comment on this post I will give you an extra two(2) entries into my 150 Follower Giveaway. =] 

Saturday, October 29, 2011

Halloween Movie

What is your favorite Halloween Movie that you have seen?

My favorite movie would have to be Hocus Pocus. I always used to watch it when I was a kid. It is now a Halloween staple for me. It is a really awesome movie. =]

Let me know in the comments what your favorite Halloween Movie is?
Also don't forget to enter my 150 Follower Giveaway that is going on. =]

Thursday, October 27, 2011

Halloween Costume.

What was your favorite Halloween Costume you went as when you were a kid?

My favorite costume was being a Jedi. I mean who as a kid wouldn't love swing around a light sabre and dress up in a cape/robe thing and making the sound effect noises. lol =]


Let me know in the comments what your was. =]

Also don't forget to enter my 150 Follower Giveaway. I am giving away two awesome books. =]


Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Halloween Candy

What is your favorite candy to receive or give out on Halloween?

Mine would have to be Reese's Peanut Butter Cups. They are so awesome. I just love the peanut butter and chocolate combination.
So delicious, I want one now. =]

Let me know what yours is in the comments. =]


Sunday, October 23, 2011

In My Mailbox

Hi everyone,
I am a little sick this week and what can you expect with winter around the corner. But the good news is that I acutally got some books this week. =]
I got three books in total.
The Pineville Heist by Lee Chambers

I read this book in ebook format and reviewed it on my blog for Lee. He was kind enough to send me a paperback copy and he even signed it.
Also he even blurbed me in it which was even more awesome. So I definitely suggest checking this book out. It was one of the best suspensful reads I have read this year.

The next book I got I won from Goodreads.
An ARC of Tempest. I am so excited to read this one.

Tempest (Tempest #1)

It is blurbed by one of my favorite authors from this year. Beth Revis =]

The third book I got I also won. I won it from the author himself.
I won Mundahlia by RJ Gonzales from his website.
I am excited to read this one as well. =]

Mundahlia (The Mundahlian Era, #1)

That is all I got this week. =]

Books Mentioned:
 by Lee Chambers
 by Julia Cross

Let me Know in the Comments What you Got.

Happy Reading


Thursday, October 20, 2011

150 Followers + Giveaway

Giveaway is now Closed.
I finally reached 150 followers and I am so excited. Thanks everyone for following me and supporting my blog. I really love reading and reviewing books for you guys. I hope the future really holds some great things for this blog. =]

In appreciation for my followers, I will be doing a giveway. =]

I am giving away a paperback copy of the first book in two of my favorite series of all time. The Alchemyst by Michael Scott and Eragon by Christopher Paolini. If you haven't read them both you should definitely enter because they are both my favorite books. =]
Cover Image
Cover Image

If I get 200 Followers or over, I will be adding another book to the giveaway, I don't know what that book will be yet, but I do have an idea what it might be. I will announce what it is if or when I get that many followers.

Giveaway Info and Rules:
Must be 13 years or older.
***Since this is a Follower Giveaway you must be a Follower of The Bookshelf Review and Follow through either GFC or Email.
***US Only Giveaway, sorry don't have the money to ship internationally.
Ends Wednesday November 9th
Winner has 48 hours to respond to prize notification email. If winner fails to respond, a new winner will be selected.
Winner will be selected by
ONE entry per person. If you enter it a second time by accident that is understandable. But if there are more entries then you will be disqualified.
I am not responsible for loss or damage of prize while in transit.

Giveaway is now Closed.
Hope you guys enjoy my giveaway and keep coming back for more. =]

Thanks for making my blogging experience awesome. =]


Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday: Tempest by Julie Cross

For those of you who don't know "Waiting On" Wednesday is an event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to let others know which book you are anticipating and can't wait till it comes out to read it.

  • Pub. Date: January 2012
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • Format: Hardcover , 352pp

  • Cover ImageThe year is 2009.  Nineteen-year-old Jackson Meyer is a normal guy… he’s in college, has a girlfriend… and he can travel back through time. But it’s not like the movies – nothing changes in the present after his jumps, there’s no space-time continuum issues or broken flux capacitors – it’s just harmless fun.
    That is… until the day strangers burst in on Jackson and his girlfriend, Holly, and during a struggle with Jackson, Holly is fatally shot. In his panic, Jackson jumps back two years to 2007, but this is not like his previous time jumps. Now he’s stuck in 2007 and can’t get back to the future.
    Desperate to somehow return to 2009 to save Holly but unable to return to his rightful year, Jackson settles into 2007 and learns what he can about his abilities.
    But it’s not long before the people who shot Holly in 2009 come looking for Jackson in the past, and these “Enemies of Time” will stop at nothing to recruit this powerful young time-traveler.  Recruit… or kill him.
    Piecing together the clues about his father, the Enemies of Time, and himself, Jackson must decide how far he’s willing to go to save Holly… and possibly the entire world.

    I just won an ARC of this book on Goodreads and I really can't wait to read it. Time Traveling, Love, Adventure it sounds like it has it all. I really hope that it has everything that I am expecting from it. =]

    Links to Preorder/Check out:
    Barnes and Noble
    Julie Cross's Website

    My review should be up after I read it. So definitely look for it to see what I thought of Tempest. =]

    Thanks for Visiting and Happy Reading


    Monday, October 17, 2011

    Follower Giveaway

    Hi guys,

    I am planning on doing a Follower Giveaway soon.

    Follow me through GFC and you can enter the giveaway.

    It will be to celebrate getting 150 Followers, I just need 1 more person to reach that mark.

    If I get over 200 Followers I will add another book to my giveaway. =]

    Hope you guys can make this happen. =]

    Happy Reading.


    Friday, October 14, 2011

    Daughter of Smoke and Bones NY Times Review

    Hi guys,

    I just wanted to share an awesome article I found about Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. I read the article and it totally made me want to read this series right now. =]
    Here is the LINK to the New York Times Review by Chelsey Philpot of Daughter of Smoke and Bones by Laini Taylor. =]

    Here is some more about this awesome book series that sounds really good. =]
    The article really let me know what it was all about, the synopsis really didn't do it for me and know I think I really want to buy this book.

    Cover ImageSynopsis:

    Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who
     have crept through a slit in the sky.
    In a dark and dusty shop, a devil's supply of human teeth grown dangerously low.
    And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.
    Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she's prone to disappearing on mysterious "errands"; she speaks many languages--not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she's about to find out.
    When one of the strangers--beautiful, haunted Akiva--fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

    Happy Reading


    Wednesday, October 12, 2011

    Waiting on Wednesday: Tiger's Voyage(Tiger Curse Series #3)

    For those of you who don't know "Waiting On" Wednesday is an event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to let others know which book you are anticipating and can't wait till it comes out to read it.
  • Pub. Date: November 1, 2011
  • Publisher: Sterling Publishing
  • Format: Hardcover , 560pp

  • Cover ImageThe third book in the gripping Tiger's Curse series!
    With the head-to-head battle against the villainous Lokesh behind her, Kelsey confronts a new heartbreak: in the wake of his traumatic experience, her beloved Ren no longer remembers who she is. As the trio continues their quest by challenging five cunning and duplicitous dragons, Ren and Kishan once more vie for her affections--leaving Kelsey more confused than ever.
    Fraught with danger, filled with magic, and packed with romance, TIger's Voyage brings Kelsey and her two tiger princes one step closer to breaking the curse.
    This fast-paced novel includes a sneak peek at Tiger's Destiny (Book 4)
    Why I am Waiting:
    I haven't read the first two books yet but I really want to. It sound like such an awesome book. I can't wait to buy them all. Hopefully this book coming out will be the excuse for me to buy them. If you have read this series let me know in the comments and link me up to some of your reviews. =]
    Happy Reading and Thanks for Visiting

    Review #24: The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson

    The Adoration of Jenna Fox (Jenna Fox Chronicles, #1) 

  • Pub. Date: September 2009
  • Publisher: Square Fish
  • Format: Paperback , 288pp

  • Synopsis:
    Seventeen-year-old Jenna Fox has just awoken from a year-long coma—so she’s been told—and she is still recovering from the terrible accident that caused it. But what happened before that? She’s been given home movies chronicling her entire life, which spark memories to surface. But are the memories really hers? And why won’t anyone in her family talk about the accident? Jenna is becoming more curious. But she is also afraid of what she might find out if she ever gets up the courage to ask her questions. What happened to Jenna Fox? And who is she really?

    My Thoughts/Review:
    Profound and thought provoking, this book had me captivated from the start. It is such a different theme then what I am used to reading. It is about a girl that wakes up from a coma and doesn't know who she is and there is some funky things going on that she has to try and figure them out. I decided to read it because I won the sequel to this book, The Fox Inheritance, in a giveaway. I don't know if I would have picked it pu if I hadn't won the sequel. I am glad I did. I was pleasently surprised at how good it was. The characters really draw you in. The were well thought out and there was enough detail put into them that you could relate to what they all were going through. Jenna and Allys(I still really don't know how to pronounce this name if anyone who read this book knows how to pronounce it please let me know in the comments) are my favorite characters. They really spoke to me in a deep way. I can kind of relate to what they both had to go through. The one thing that I didn't really like was that this book was somewhat predictable. I could guess what was going to happen before it happened. Overall this book was amazing and I would suggest it to anyone to read. The ending was really perfect and I really like how it ended. I already started the sequel and can't wait to tell you guys my thoughts on that one as well. It is really good so far.

    Overall I give this book...

    4 out of 5 Stars
    Links to check it out/Buy it:

    Thanks for visiting and Happy Reading.


    Tuesday, October 11, 2011

    Top Ten Tuesday(2)

    Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish. They  love to share lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see others top ten lists!
    Top Ten Books I Wish I Could Read Again for the First Time
    1. The Hunger Games Series
    2. The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel Series
    3. Divergent- really wish to experience reading it for the first time over again. =]
    4. Harry Potter Series- This one is obviously a given.
    5. The City of Ember Series- If you haven't read these books you should they are really good.
    6. The Inheritance Cycle- One of my favorite book series, would definitely wish to read it for the first time.
    7. Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children- So good and peculiar. =]
    8. Percy Jackson Series- would definitely want to read again for the 1st time. Who doesn't love mythology.
    9. I am Number Four- Just an awesome book about aliens.
    10. The Host by Stephanie Myer- A great science fiction book. =]
    Those are my Top Ten this week let me know in the comments what your list was like. =]
    Thanks for Visting and Happy Reading

    Saturday, October 8, 2011

    No IMM this Week

    In My Mailbox is a weekly feature/meme/video hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren. It is where you tell everyone what you got this week book wise in your mailbox or whatever. =]

    Hi everyone,

    I got absolutely no books this week. Hopefully next week I will get a lot. I might even buy some next week. I haven't bought any in a while, lol. By "a while" I mean about a week. =]
    Hopefully because of this I will fit in more reading time, but school has been getting a lot of my attention lately. I have a lot of homework to do and I try and update my blog as much as possible.

    Let me know in the Comments what you got This Week.

    I really want to know I might get some awesome book ideas so I can buy them. =]

    Thanks for Visiting and Happy Reading.

    Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer

    Wednesday, October 5, 2011

    Waiting on Wednesday(11): Thirteen Hallows by Michael Scott and Colette Freedman

    For those of you who don't know "Waiting On" Wednesday is an event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to let others know which book you are anticipating and can't wait till it comes out to read it.

  • Pub. Date: December 2011
  • Publisher: Doherty, Tom Associates, LLC
  • Format: Hardcover , 352pp

  • Thirteen Hallows
    The Hallows. Ancient artifacts imbued with a primal and deadly power. But are they protectors of this world, or the keys to its destruction?

    A gruesome murder in London reveals a sinister plot to uncover a two-thousand-year-old secret.

    For decades, the Keepers guarded these Hallows, keeping them safe and hidden and apart from each other. But now the Keepers are being brutally murdered, their prizes stolen, the ancient objects bathed in their blood.

    Now, only a few remain.

    With her dying breath, one of the Keepers convinces Sarah Miller, a practical stranger, to deliver her Hallow—a broken sword with devastating powers—to her American nephew, Owen.

    The duo quickly become suspects in a series of murders as they are chased by both the police and the sadistic Dark Man and his nubile mistress.

    As Sarah and Owen search for the surviving Keepers, they unravel the deadly secret the Keepers were charged to protect. The mystery leads Sarah and Owen on a cat-and-mouse chase through England and Wales, and history itself, as they discover that the sword may be the only thing standing between the world … and a horror beyond imagining.

    The Thirteen Hallows is the beginning of a spellbinding new saga, a thrilling tale of ancient magic and modern times by a New York Times bestselling author and an award-winning playwright.

    I just found this book today. It is by one of my favorite authors Michael Scott, the author of the Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series. This book looks so good I can not wait for it. =] It is kind of Harry Potter like but it is for adults. I really can't wait. =] Let me know in the comments what you are waiting for this week. =]

    Thanks for Visting and Happy Reading

    Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer

    Tuesday, October 4, 2011

    Top Ten Tuesday(1): Top Ten Book Endings That Left Me With My Mouth Hanging Open

    Hi guys,
    This is my first every Top Ten Tuesday, so excited to try this meme out. Hope you like it. =]
    Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish. They  love to share lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see others top ten lists!

    Top Ten Book Endings That Left Me With My Mouth Hanging Open:

      Across the Universe (Across the Universe, #1)
    1. The Giver by Lois Lowry-This book ends on a weird note. It leave the reader with them kind of deciding what happens. You have to infer what you think happened to Jonas. This book was so good and it ended in a way that I didn't want it to but was a good way to end it.
    2. Divergent by Veronica Roth-The ending of this book had my mouth open because I wanted more. I was enthralled by it from the moment I started reading it. The ending made me want the next book so badly.
    3. Across the Universe by Beth Revis-Kind of the same thing, the ending had a shocker where now you really don't know what will happen in the next book. I so want the sequel so badly. I loved this book so much.
    4. The Pineville Heist by Lee Chambers-This book was kind of a suspense thriller mystery. I was really shocked at the ending and wasn't expecting it at all. So really good book and ending. So glad I got it for review. =]
    5. Angels and Demons by Dan Brown-This is one of my all time favorite books. With the mystery, the suspense and the adventure it was just perfect. The ending was perfect. I just love everything about it. =]
    6. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen- This book is such a moving spellbinding book. It has a kind of magical quality about it. The ending I wasn't expecting and was really good. The movie was also fantastic. =]
    7. The Necromancer  (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, #4)Room by Emma Donoghue- This book was the kind of book the really touched me. It is really unique and told in a different perspective. The ending was perfect. It ended so beautifully and if you have a chance definitely pick this book up.
    8. Brisingr by Christopher Paolini- Another one of my all time favorite series. I just love it so much. It brings me into another world completely. I so can't wait for the next book to come out in November, I want it now. =]
    9. The Necromancer by Michael Scott- This book ended on such a horrible cliffhanger. I can't believe it ended this way. If you haven't heard of this book or this series you need to check it out. I just love it so much. I can't wait to read The Warlock to find out what happens.
    10. A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin- I am so glad I got turned onto this book and series. I loved this book so much with all of it details twists and turns and all of its shocking moments. It is just so awesome of a book. The ending was even more awesome. It ended with so many loose ends I can't wait to read the next book. =]

    Thanks for Visiting and Happy Reading =]

    Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer

    Sunday, October 2, 2011

    In My Mailbox(10)

    Hi everyone,

    I got a very light IMM this week. I only got one book. I bought it because a few weeks ago I won the sequel to this series and it looked so good that I had to buy the first one right away and read it.

    In My Mailbox is a weekly feature/meme/video hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren. It is where you tell everyone what you got this week book wise in your mailbox or whatever. =]

    This week I got...

    Cover Image

    Books Mentioned:
     by Mary E. Pearson

    So far this book is really good and interesting. Once I finish it I can't wait to read the next one which is The Fox Inheritance.
    Let me know it the comments what you got this week.

    Thanks for Visiting and Happy Reading

    Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer