Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday(6): Out of Oz:The Final Volume in the Wicked Years Series by Gregory Maguire

For those of you who don't know "Waiting On" Wednesday is an event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to let others know which book you are anticipating and can't wait til it comes out to read it.

  • Pub. Date: November 1, 2011

  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

  • Format: Hardcover , 592pp

  • Cover Image
    “Maguire’s work is melodic, symphonic, and beautiful; it is dejected and biting and brave. How great that people flock to these magical novels.”
    Los Angeles Times Book Review
    Bestselling author Gregory Maguire’s remarkable series, The Wicked Years, comes full circle with this, his fourth and final excursion across a darker, richer, more complex landscape of “the magical land of Oz.” Out of Oz brilliantly reimagines L. Frank Baum’s world over the rainbow as wracked with social unrest—placing Glinda the good witch under house arrest and having the cowardly Lion on the lam from the law as the Emerald City prepares to make war on Munchkinland. Even Dorothy makes a triumphant return in Maguire’s magnificent Oz finale—tying up every loose green end of the series he began with his classic Wicked, the basis for the smash hit Broadway musical.


    I can't wait for this book. I didn't know there was going to be a fourth and final one but I am so excited there is one. I want to see how it all ties up in the end.
    Let me know in the coments what you are waiting for this week? Let me know if you want to read this one too. =]

    Happy Reading

    Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer

    Tuesday, August 30, 2011

    Teaser Tuesday(5): Clip from the Hunger Games Movie

    Hi everyone,

    My teaser tuesday is going to be a little different today. I am still reading the book that I was reading last week, this week, so I am doing something different. =]

    Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading.
    Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
    Grab your current read
    Open to a random page
    Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
    BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
    Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


    For this Teaser Tuesday since I am not reading a new book from last week. I am showing you guys a clip from the Hunger Games Movie. Here it is:

    Get More: 2011 VMA, Music

    Hope you liked my Teaser today. I know when I saw this clip it made me even more excited for the movie to come out.

    Till next time,

    Happy Reading

    Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer

    Monday, August 29, 2011

    Review #19: Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

    Cover Image

  • Pub. Date: June 2011

  • Publisher: Quirk Publishing

  • Format: Hardcover , 352pp



  • Synopsis:
    A mysterious island.
    An abandoned orphanage.
    A strange collection of very curious photographs.
    It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.
    A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.


    My Thoughts/Review
    This was such an awesome book. I enjoyed it completely. The premise and the story was one of the things that drew me to this book. I mean a book based on old creepy looking photographs of children doing amazing things. Now that in my book is awesome. This book is a sort of discovery and a coming of age story. Jacob has to find his way on his own path after his grandpa dies. What he discovers is something that he long ago gave up believing in. This book has everything a good book needs. It has suspense, a good storyline, mystery, intrigue and even a little love story. I loved diving into the world of this book and meeting all the characters. All of the peculiar children and all there special abilities mesmerized me. I felt such a great connection to all of them and I didn't want anything bad to happen to them. This definitely makes the list of one of my best reads of 2011. I just really loved this story. Overall I give this book a 5 out of 5 Stars. If you haven't heard of this book yet, you should definitely check it out. And if it appeals to you, buy it, cause it is that awesome of a book. This book ends on kind of a cliff hanger. There could definitely be more to the story. I so so so hope that Ransom Riggs continues this beautifully writtien, suspenseful story. I want it to be a series so badly. If you have read it let me know what you thought of it in the comments.
    Links to Check it out/Buy it:
    Happy Reading
    Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer

    Friday, August 26, 2011

    Sisters Red Giveaway Winner

    Hi everyone,

    I did this giveaway to promote Jackson Pearce's new companion book to this one called Sweetly, that just came out on tuesday. Right now I am reading Sisters Red and it is so good so far. Hope all of you that entered my giveaway go and pick up a copy for yourselves and read it.

    Okay without further ado, lets get to the winner of Sisters Red.

    With about 144 entries into this giveaway the winner is:



    She has been contacted and has emailed me back.

    Thanks everyone that entered my giveaway and participated in all the extra entries.
    I appreciate all of my new followers and subscribers.
    I hope you keep coming back to read my blog. =]

    Happy Reading

    Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer

    Wednesday, August 24, 2011

    Waiting on Wednesday(5): The Future of Us by Jay Asher


    For those of you who don't know "Waiting On" Wednesday is an event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to let others know which book you are anticipating and can't wait til it comes out to read it.


  • Pub. Date: November 21, 2011


  • Publisher: Penguin Young Readers


  • Format: Hardcover , 320pp 


  • The Future of Us
    It's 1996, and less than half of all American high school students have ever used the Internet.
    Emma just got her first computer and an America Online CD-ROM.
    Josh is her best friend. They power up and log on--and discover themselves on Facebook, fifteen years in the future.
    Everybody wonders what their Destiny will be. Josh and Emma are about to find out
     .



    This book sounds so interesting. I can not wait for it. I read Thirteen Reasons Why earlier this year and it was such a profound and inspiring must read book. There was an excerpt in there for this book and the excerpt made me want to read this book even more. I seriously can't wait till it comes out. I mean the premise is pure genius from the start. I am hoping it will meet my expectations when I read it. =]

    Until next time,

    Happy Reading

    -Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer

    Tuesday, August 23, 2011

    Teaser Tuesday(4): Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce


    Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading.
    Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
    Grab your current read
    Open to a random page
    Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
    BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
    Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


    Cover ImageSynopsis:
    Scarlett March lives to hunt the Fenris--the werewolves that took her eye when she was defending her sister Rosie from a brutal attack. Armed with a razor-sharp hatchet and blood-red cloak, Scarlett is an expert at luring and slaying the wolves. She's determined to protect other young girls from a grisly death, and her raging heart will not rest until every single wolf is dead.
    Rosie March once felt her bond with her sister was unbreakable. Owing Scarlett her life, Rosie hunts ferociously alongside her. But even as more girls' bodies pile up in the city and the Fenris seem to be gaining power, Rosie dreams of a life beyond the wolves. She finds herself drawn to Silas, a young woodsman who is deadly with an ax and Scarlett's only friend--but does loving him mean betraying her sister and all that they've worked for?




    My Teaser

    "The wolf opened his wide, long jaws, rows of teeth and bloodstained tongue stretching for her. A thought locked itself in Scarlett's mind, mind and she repeated it over and over until it became a chant, a prayer: I am the only one left to fight, so now I must kill you." pg 8. -Jackson Pearce 

    Links to check it out:

    Also don't forget to checkout Jackson Pearce's new book that comes out today, Sweetly, a retelling of Hansel and Gretel and a companion book to Sisters Red.

    Also you still have till the end of tonight to enter into my Sisters Red Giveaway. I will announce the winner tomorrow. =]

    Happy Reading and Don't forget to follow me.

    -Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer

    Sunday, August 21, 2011

    In My Mailbox(6):Book Haul


    Hi guys,

    This week I went to Borders again. I know that must be a shocker to you. =] I got one book for review and I also got some books in the mail from Barnes and Noble. Hope you guys enjoy my IMM blog.

    
    In My Mailbox is a weekly feature/meme/video hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren. It is where you tell everyone what you got this week book wise in your mailbox or whatever. =]

    Without further ado here is my In My Mailbox this week:


    Books Mentioned:
     by Scott Westerfeld by Scott Westerfeld
     by
     by Victoria Schwab
    Sorry about the lighting and the different location. Like I said I did it later than normal this week and I wanted to get it up sooner than later. Hope you liked what I got. =]

    Leave me a comment what you got in your mailbox and your link. I will be sure to go check out what you got. Also don't forget to follow. I am so excited that I got 50 followers. Thanks to everyone who follow me. =]

    Also don't forget to enter my Sisters Red Giveaway only two more days left till its is over.

    Happy Reading

    -Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer

    Saturday, August 20, 2011

    Review #18: The Pineville Heist by Lee Chambers

    The Pineville Heist

    Synopsis:
    Will Aaron Stevens survive the night of the Pineville Heist?

    Seventeen year old Aaron stumbles into the aftermath of a five million dollar bank heist gone wrong. Hiding under a canoe, Aaron partially catches the murder of one of the robbers. In the chaos he sneaks away with the money and heads straight for the closest place of safety, his high school. Terrified, Aaron tells his shocking tale to Amanda Becker, his drama teacher, but it doesn’t take long for one of the psychotic robbers to show up. In the locked down school the pair are relentlessly pursued in a quest to get the money back and wipe out the evidence.

    The Pineville Heist, based on the award-winning screenplay by Lee Chambers and Todd Gordon

    Follow movie and book news at http://www.pinevilleheist.com/

    My Thoughts/Review
    This book was really good. I can't believe how suspenseful and thrilling this book was. The simple premise of this book made it a great read that had me on the edge of my seat. The main character made you feel for him and you wanted him to be successful and okay in the end. You didn't want him to get hurt, you wanted him to survive. Think about how scary and horrifying it would be to be locked in a school with no way out with someone trying to kill you. That is really terrifying. You just have to read the book to see what happens in the end. The mystery aspect of this book, the who dune it, was so good. I was shocked at the end of this book and that is one of the reasons why I liked reading it. The twists and turns were edge of your seat suspenseful, that I didn't even know what was coming next. The fighting scenes, and there were alot of them, were really good. You never knew if Aaron, the main character, would get out of them alive. If you want a good suspenseful, edge of your seat, terrifying, quick read, I definitely suggest reading this book. It was really a good read. Overall I give this book a 4 out of 5 stars. I can't wait for the movie to come out. =]


    Links:
    Goodreads
    Amazon

    ***Disclaimer: In concordance with the FTC, this ebook was provided for review by the author to me for free for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own and I was not paid or influenced in any way. =]

    Till next time,

    Happy Reading

    -Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer

    Friday, August 19, 2011

    Review #17 and Guest Post(2):Missing in Mexico by Stuart Gustafson


    Book Details:Publisher: AITE Publishing
    Published: May 2011
    Genre: Mystery Tourism
    Page Count: 271 pages in printed version
    Website:Missing In Mexico

    Book Synopsis:
    Sarah Johnson is a 19-year college freshman who, along with her roommate Mary, spent an extra week in Los Cabos, Mexico after a family vacation over the Christmas break. Unexpectedly, Sarah's not on the plane back to Seattle, and her parents hire Stan, a seasoned Private Investigator, to locate her. Even with local help and some promising leads in the town of San Jose del Cabo, he's unable to find her, and he returns to Seattle to inform the parents. Months later he receives a mysterious letter from someone who says she can help him locate Sarah, and he jumps on the next plane to Los Cabos. Will this be the lucky break he needs to find her? Or will she remain missing -- Missing in Mexico?

    My Thoughts/Review
    I am so glad that I got the opportunity to read this book. I had never heard of the term mystery tourism before but now that I have I will definitely be reading more of this genre. This book was really good. Stuart Gustafson is so detailed in his writing it was like I actually took a trip down to San Jose del Cabo, Mexico with his main character Stan. I loved picturing how everything would look like down there. It's like I went along for the ride to help solve the mystery. For this being Stuart's very first book it was really good. For each chapter heading Stuart added a word in Spanish, told you what the word meant, put a sentence in Spanish and then told you the whole sentence in English. I loved this part of the book. I took Spanish in high school but didn't retain much of it. I only know some words and phrases. Each heading sort of hints at what each chapter will be about. The chapter headings and some of the characters speaking Spanish really gives you a sense of the culture in this book.  Another thing is that Stuart actually makes you feel invested in finding Sarah. You feel for her parents who have no idea what happened to there only child. I for one really wanted to find out what happened to her. What actually happened to Sarah was a complete shocker to me. I wasn't expecting the ending at all. Also the last few chapters end on such a perfect note. It makes you want even more. I really can't wait for more Stuart Gustafson books. He really puts a lot into the research of his books and that is why this one is so great. I can't wait to read his next book when it comes out. Awesome, fantastic, great read. I definitely suggest reading it. =]  


    ***Disclaimer: In concordance with the FTC, this book was provided for review by the author for Partners in Crime Tours and then given to me free for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own and I was not paid or influenced in any way. =]



    Guest Post by Stuart Gustafson, author of Missing in Mexico

    I haven’t always been a writer even though I did some writing in high school in a Creative Writing class, the Journalism Club, and the Annual staff. But then it was off to college to get that mathematics degree and go work in the computer industry. The only writing I did there was writing computer programs. Along the way I got married to Darlene and we brought a daughter and a son into the world. Travel was something I always loved to do, and so we tried to travel as much as we could. We lived in San Diego, but our travel was mostly in our pop-up trailer to National Parks. It was fun, but rather limited.

    Along the way, reading was also more of a “requirement” rather than a pleasure for me. There were always the books that we had to read in high school for our book reports, and sometimes I would pick a “thicker” one, so I could take two months instead of just one. But there was never a single genre that interested me. The math and engineering courses in college, and even the graduate business courses, didn’t contain a literature component, so once again, I wasn’t doing much reading for pleasure. Meanwhile, my wife continued her voracious reading, even taking some women’s literature classes in college – I think she took them to stall her upcoming graduation date.

    So I was never interested in the Hardy Boys series or Zane Grey mysteries as I was growing up (my family questions whether that has actually ever occurred). I do seem to have enjoyed the writing of several authors, and perhaps it is the way they’ve written their mysteries that has laid the foundation for why I like to write mysteries today. My love of travel is no doubt another piece of that. I remember reading the novels by Arthur Hailey (in particular Hotel, Airport, and Wheels) and getting so engrossed in them that I would completely lose track of time. Later it was Tom Clancy, starting when my brother sent me a personally inscribed copy of Hunt for Red October from Mr. Clancy. I would then grab his next novels the first day they came out. But that ran its course after a dozen years or so.

    When I was doing a lot of business travel, John Grisham became my travel partner in paperback form, primarily because it wasn’t necessary to read his books “in order.” I liked the way that he took the side of the “little guy,” with stories that kept you reading page after page after page.  I got a little confused with The Painted House, but he didn’t have to answer to me or to anyone else. Grisham, too, ran out of steam with me.

    My reading now consists mostly of travel brochures and thinking of places where we want to go next. Of course, my own novels get read and re-read numerous times both as I’m writing and after they’re done. My hope is that as you’re reading one of my novels that you not only enjoy the mystery, but that you also feel transported to its location. Maybe you’ve been there before; maybe you’d like to go there; maybe it’s only a dream. But my hope is that the story fulfills your wish.

    Stuart Gustafson

    Author Bio:
    Stuart Gustafson began writing in earnest after taking early retirement from the corporate world in 2007. His professional life involved travel and so it was natural for him to want to continue traveling once he didn't have to travel as a job. Now when he travels, it's for fun; it's for pleasure; it's to see new places in the world. The way he has chosen to combine his love of travel and writing is to write mystery novels set in exciting locations around the world where he likes to go.


    His debut mystery novel Missing in Mexico is set in San Jose del Cabo at the tip of Mexico's Bajadel Cabo and some of the residents told him that Missing in Mexico was indeed about their town and would he please consider writing another book about San Jose or at least about Cabo.

    His second mystery novel, set in Sydney, NSW, Australia, is already underway, and Stuart took five trips to Sydney in 2010 to conduct research of the area to once again ensure that the book, even though it's a fictional mystery novel, would still contain authentic details. Publication date for that book is set for early 2012.

    Stuart has been married for thirty-seven years to Darlene and they have one daughter and one son. Stuart and Darlene live in Boise, Idaho.

    -Stuart Gustafson is really great. He actually took the time to sign the book he sent to me through Partners in Crime Tours. We have even talked through email and twitter. His book is great and he is such a nice guy. I definitely recommend his book to anyone that loves a good mystery. =]

    Connect With Stuart:
    

    ***Make sure to visit these other awesome stops on the tour. The ones that are out right now are definitely a must read if you are interested in this book. So definitely check them out.***
    Tour Participants:
    August 1-Review@Tammy's Book Parlor
    August 4-Review@A Good Day To Read
    August 5-Spotlight@Suspense By Anne
    August 8-Guest Post@Tribute Books Reviews
    August 11-Interview@Chris Redding, Author
    August 12-Interview@Blog Talk Radio's G-Zone (1pm)
    August 16-Guest Post@Words By Webb
    August 17-Review@Oodles of Books
    August 18-Review@Words by Webb
    August 19-Guest Post&Review@The Book Shelf
    August 22-Interview, Guest Post&Review@Joel M. Andre, Author
    August 23-Review@Coffee and a Keyboard
    August 24-Review@Let's Book It
    August 26-Review@From The TBR Pile
    August 29-Review@Stuff&Nonsense
    August 30-Interview@Beyond The Books
    August 31-Review@Cami Checketts
    September 1-Review@The Musings Of A Book Addict
    September 2-Review@Gelati's Scoop
    September 5-Review@Kritters Ramblings
    September 6-Review@Romancing The Book (Valerie)
    September 7-Guest Post@The Top Shelf
    September 8-Review@Rhode's Review
    September 9-Interview@Stuff@Nonsense
    September 12-Review@Lady Lit Reviews
    September 13-Review@The Top Shelf
    September 14-Review@The World According to Dave
    September 15-Review&Guest Post@ Legacy of a Writer
     September 16-Interview@Coffee and a Keyboard
    September 19-Review@Reading, Reading, & Life
    September 20-Review@Sweeping Me
    September 21-Interview@Book Marketing Buzz
    September 21-Review@GenreWench
    September 22-Review@Terri Forehand
    September 23-Guest Post@The Book Faery Reviews
    September 26-Interview@Rhodes Review
    September 27-Interview@CelticLady's Reviews
    September 28-Review@CelticLady's Reviews
    September 29-Review&Interview@Darlene's Book Nook
    September 30-Review@Books, Products & More


    Till next time,

    Happy Reading
    -Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer

    Wednesday, August 17, 2011

    Waiting on Wednesday(5): Fateful by Claudia Gray


     

     
    For those of you who don't know "Waiting On" Wednesday is an event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to let others know which book you are anticipating and can't wait til it comes out to read it.

    • Pub. Date: September 13th 2011
    • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
    • Format: Hardcover, 336pp
     
    FatefulEighteen-year-old maid Tess Davies is determined to escape the wealthy, troubled family she serves. It’s 1912, and Tess has been trapped in the employ of the Lisles for years, amid painful memories and twisted secrets. But now the Lisle family is headed to America, with Tess in tow. Once the ship they’re sailing on—the RMS Titanic—reaches its destination, Tess plans to strike out and create a new life for herself.
    Her single-minded focus shatters when she meets Alec, a handsome first-class passenger who captivates her instantly. But Alec has secrets of his own. He’s in a hurry to leave Europe, and whispers aboard the ship say it’s because of the tragic end of his last affair with the French actress who died so gruesomely and so mysteriously. . . .
    Soon Tess will learn just how dark Alec’s past truly is. The danger they face is no ordinary enemy: werewolves exist and are stalking him—and now her, too. Her growing love for Alec will put Tess in mortal peril, and fate will do the same before their journey on the Titanic is over.
    In Fateful, New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray delivers paranormal adventure, dark suspense, and alluring romance set against the opulent backdrop of the Titanic’s first—and last—voyage.

     
    Links to check it out/Preorder:

     
    I am really looking forward to this book. I just learned of its existence a few days ago. First of all it has werewolves in it and that is great and then you add that it is set on the Titanic and that makes it sound even more fantastic. Ever since I learned about what happened on board the Titanic, I have always been interested and fascinated by it. The movie Titanic is one of my favorite movies of all time. I really can't wait to buy and read this book when it comes out. What are you waiting for on this Wednesday? Leave a link in the comments and I will be sure to come and check it out. Also please don't forget to follow me. I really really really want to hit 50 followers and I am just one person away from that mark. lol

     
    Till next time,

     
    Happy Reading

     
    -Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer

    Monday, August 15, 2011

    In My Mailbox(5) Another Borders Edition

    Hi guys,

    Here is this weeks In My Mailbox. I got some books for review and I hit up my local Borders again. =]


    In My Mailbox is a weekly feature/meme/video hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren. It is where you tell everyone what you got this week book wise in your mailbox or whatever. =]

    Here is my In My Mailbox for this week:

    Books I talked about:
     by Becca Fitzpatrick
     by Cassandra Clare
     by Scott Westerfeld

     by Cassandra Clare
     by Heather Cashman
     by Tracey Alley
     by Tracey Alley
     by Tracey Alley

    Blogs I mentioned:
    Candace's Book Blog

    Link to Giveaway Info:
    Sisters Red Giveaway
    Candaces Giveaway Info

    Till next time,

    Happy Monday


    -Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer

    Saturday, August 13, 2011

    Sisters Red Giveaway

    Giveaway Now Closed
    Hi guys,

    With Jackson Pearce's Sweetly coming out in 10 days on August 23rd. I thought I would do a giveaway of  a paperback version of Sisters Red, the first book in her companion series.
    The Giveaway will run from August 13th to August 23rd. =]

    
    Cover Image


    Giveaway Info and Rules:
    Must be 13 years or older.
    ***US Only Giveaway, sorry don't have the money to ship internationally.
    Ends August 23rd 
    Winner has 48 hours to respond to prize notification email. If winner fails to respond, a new winner will be selected.
    Winner will be selected by random.org.
    ONE entry per person. If you enter it a second time by accident that is understandable. But if there are more entries then you will be disqualified.
    I am not responsible for loss or damage of prize while in transit.


    Without further ado.
    To Enter just Fill out the Form below:

    Giveaway Now Closed



    Hope you guys enjoy this giveaway. =]

    Till next time,

    Happy Reading

    -Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer

    Friday, August 12, 2011

    Review #16 and Guest Post(1): Arson by Estevan Vega


    Book Details:
    • Genre: supernatural/YA/coming-of-age
    • Publisher: StoneGate Ink
    • Publication Date: May 2011


    Book Synopsis:
    Arson Gable feels like a freak. He can create fire. He never asked for it. He never wanted it. But he can't shut it off.

    Before now, three things were true: he both loved and despised his grandmother; his life was going nowhere; and he was alone. But when a strange girl--who feels more normal behind a mask than inside her own skin--moves in next door, Arson hopes to find something he's never had: purpose. Using what he fears most about himself, Arson must face his consuming past and confront the nightmare that is his present as he walks the fine line between boy and monster. Dark, moody, and breathtakingly relevant, Arson, the chilling chronicle of an isolated boy with unimaginable ability, is sure to ignite the hearts and minds of a new generation.


    My Thoughts/Review:
    I am so glad I took the time to read this book. The first thing that caught my eye was the cover of this book. It is a beautifully awesome cover. Then the book synopsis got me hooked even more. It intrigued me so much and I am so glad that it did. I loved the characters and the story telling. Estevan Vega is a really good writer. Emery was such a great character even though she wears a mask on her face. I found her funny, witty and feisty even though she carries such a burden about her face and has to hide behind a mask. Arson was also a really good character even though he has a lot of guilt about his past. Arson can create fire with his mind and it causes a lot of conflict in his life. These traits that they both have, make them feel like freaks, and that is why they are so relatable. Everyone at some point or another feels like a freak in there lifetime. I loved the intimate struggles of the main characters. They were both dealing with so much different types of crap in there lives, that they shouldn't of had to deal with. It made both Arson and Emery so much more than just flat characters. They both exploded off the page. 
    This book has some supernatural and romantic elements in it. I loved how there friendship turned into something more. And how there relationship evolved and they fell in love. The secondary characters are the characters that were causing all the problems in Arson and Emery's lives. I'm not going to go into to much detail about them. But they all really made me not like them, in a good way of course, which shows a sign of great writing skills. You will know what I am talking about if you read the book. 
    Overall I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars.
    It is that good. It is one of my favorite reads that I have read in 2011 so far. I definitely suggest reading this book for anyone who loves any type of genre. I can not wait to read Ashes, the sequel to Arson. Definitely go pick up this book. =]

    ***Disclaimer: In concordance with the FTC, this ebook was provided for review by the author for Partners in Crime Tours and then given to me free for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own and I was not paid or influenced in any way. =]

     Now to the eagerly awaited Guest Post.



    By Estevan Vega, author of ARSON, ASHES, and the upcoming Sacred Sin


    My name is Estevan Vega, and I’ve been writing since I was forced to in fifth grade. I got into it because my dad helped me pump out a mean, creepy story for my English teacher, who required us to turn in a one-page short story/essay every day, and I actually got an A+ for it. Stories followed that year, and mine were often selected to be read. By the end of the year, I said, screw it…I’m writing a freakin’ book. This leads to my second introduction. My name is Estevan Vega. I’ve been writing since I was forced to in fifth grade, I’m much younger than your other favorite author, and I write thrillers. Well, not exactly. Well, sorta. Um…I write thrillers, dramas encapsulating the stains hidden within the human condition, and stories that often blend the natural and the supernatural. That’s right, no boxes here.

    “Well, why do you write that?” I’ve gotten this question a few times, either from friends or acquaintances, or from people who’ve approached me at book signings. What generally follows is a blanket statement by said convinced human about how my book is not “their kind of read.” And of course, my personal favorite: “This isn’t at all like Danielle Steel, is it?” Seriously, I got that one time. To answer the Danielle Steel question, no, it probably isn’t, but then again, I’m just relying on pure speculation, instinct, and rumors.

    If anyone’s read my books, then it becomes very clear very quickly that I try to blend several concepts and genres together when I write. It’s intentional. I know there’s a little dysfunction in everyone’s family; I know that we all at one point or another wish we could be the hero and the villain; I know that, like it or not, there is a little bit of a romantic in all of us…okay, most of us, but still. So, if that’s the case, why do we stick to such conventionality when we write our books, or why do we stick to specific genres, guidelines, and labels when we select titles as readers? If the story is good enough, and if it can capture you, regardless of format or style (Amish romance novels excluded, obviously), then you should give it a shot. The brave ones reach for my book, and nine times out of ten, they are impressed and come back for more.

    Now, that might sound egotistical, but I assure you it’s not. What I am trying to say is that your tastes might be inclined to enjoy a hybrid sort of book, like ARSON, one that doesn’t neatly fit inside the cracks and conventions the industry and your mind have created. The reason ARSON has gotten the great reviews and such, I believe, is because it caters to several different crowds and appetites. Of course, there is a target market, but when a title comes along that can bend the rules, enticing a strict Nicholas Sparks reader and a strict Stephen King reader simultaneously, then it’s safe to say gold doth be struck! The simple fact remains that often times people don’t know that they like something until they give it a shot.
    So, do I write thrillers? Yes. Do I write sci-fi/supernatural stuff that occasionally dives into something a bit creepy? Yes. Do I write coming-of-age dramas with the middle name-dysfunctional? Most definitely. Labels…who needs ’em? My musical tastes have changed over the years. And my taste in movies has evolved. My writing style is no different. Will I stick to this format every time I sit down to write? Probably not, but it’s a great place to start. So to all the readers out there, reach for a book that might freak you out or one that might make you feel all tingly inside. It’s okay. Writers: Don’t be afraid to push the genre boundaries a bit, and don’t fear the fact that your book finds a home somewhere between YA and adult and thriller and sci-fi. Like I said, they’re just labels.
    -E. Vega 
    -Thank you so much for an awesome book Estevan and the even more awesome Guest Post
    More about Estevan below.






    Author Bio:
    Estevan Vega published his first book when he was fifteen, and his second followed shortly after. His fascination for the supernatural ignited a desire to write his third and most praised work to date, Arson. For those just joining, Ashes continues the turbulent story. Vega currently resides in Connecticut, where he is feverishly plotting the next chapter in the series. Get stoked.

    Connect With Estevan:
    Website: http://www.estevanvega.com/
    Facebook: facebook.com/estevan.vega
    Twitter: twitter.com/estevanvega
     
    -Thanks to Partners in Crime Tours for letting me be apart of the tour.
    ***Make sure to visit these other awesome stops on the tour. The ones that are out right now are definitely a must read if you are interested in this book. So definitely check them out.***

    Tour Participants:
    August 3-Guest Post@Tributes Books Reviews
    August 4-Guest Post@The Top Shelf
    August 5-Review@Gelati's Scoop
    August 8-Interview@Beyond The Books
    August 9-Guest Post@The Calico Critic
    August 10-Review@The Top Shelf
    August 11-Guest Post@Stuff & Nonsense
    August 12-Review&Guest Post@The Bookshelf
    August 15-Review@Oodles Of Books
    August 16-Guest Post@The Book Faery Reviews
    August 16-Review@A Good Day To Read
    August 17-Guest Post@Terri Forehand
    August 18-Review@Coffee and a Keyboard
    August 19-Spotlight@Suspense By Anne
    August 23-Review@Hypnotically Entranced
    August 24-Interview@Book Marketing Buzz
    August 26-Interview@Coffee and a Keyboard




    Till next time,

    Happy Reading

    -Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer
    

    Guest Post:

    Just Labels

    Thursday, August 11, 2011

    Trailer Thursday(1) Spartacus: Vengeance

    Hi guys,

    I am trying something new. I don't know if anyone has come up with this concept but if someone has let me know.

    This is where I am going to post video of trailers or videos of things I am excited for may it be a book trailer, movie trailer, tv show trailer, etc.

    Here is mine this week. =]



    I love this show it is so awesome. I suggest buying the series on dvd if you can.

    Anyway link up in the comments if you want to participate in Trailer Thursday. =]

    Till next Time,

    Happy Reading.


    -Michael/Bookshelf Reviewer